Need Help?
Welcome!
Welcome to the University Libraries guide to Engineering Resources at URI! Here, you'll learn how to find information through the library, from books to journal articles to quality online resources. We've collected recommendations for different subfields and areas of focus in engineering as well as created a page with great introductory resources to help across different specializations.
Use the tabs to navigate this guide, and don't hesitate to ask a librarian if you need extra help.
Getting Help
Not sure where to start? Feeling overwhelmed? Librarians are available to help with any stage in your research process! You can talk to us in person, reach out anonymously via live chat, or send us an email!
- Get Research HelpLearn more about Research Help at URI!
- InfoRhode TutorialsCheck out these short tutorials to learn (or refresh!) basic college research skills.
- Citing Correctly and Avoiding PlagiarismFAQs, examples, and information about citing your sources using a variety of different citation styles.
Related Guides
If you're looking for engineering standards or technical reports, check out our guides to those resources below!
Core Databases for Engineering
You'll find tailored recommendations on each page of this guide for different concentrations and areas of focus within engineering. This box collects some general best bets useful for finding articles, technical reports, and other literature across engineering specializations.
- Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to articles in professional magazines, scholarly journals, and conference proceedings in engineering. 1884 - Present. Updated weekly.
- What else should I know? Links to articles open in a pop-up window, so you will need to deactivate the pop-up blocker on your browser to connect to full text.
- What's included? Citations to articles in professional magazines, scholarly journals, and conference proceedings in engineering. 1884 - Present. Updated weekly.
- IEEE Xplore (IEEE) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Full-text access to IEEE journals, magazines, transactions, proceedings from approximately 125 of the most important IEEE conferences, and selected e-books. Also includes IEEE Spectrum Magazine and the IEEE Conference Proceedings Archive 1936-1999.
- Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
- SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to, abstracts, and full text of scholarly research and technical literature in disciplines related to natural sciences and technology. Content covered includes scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
- What dates are covered? 1946 - Present.
- What else should I know?
Includes the following relevant sub-databases: Engineering Database, Engineering Index; Environmental Science Database; Environmental Science Index; Materials Science Database, among others
- Web of Science Core Collection (Clarivate) This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Access to Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1900-present), and Book Citation Index (2005-present). Contains citations to articles from over 10,000 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
- What else should I know? Searching by cited reference allows the user to uncover the research that influenced an author’s work or to navigate forward in time to discover a paper’s impact on current research.
Created & Revised By
Created by C. Braun 3/24