Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fairchild's Dictionary of Fashion by
Call Number: Carothers Ref. TT503 .C34 1988
Publication Date: 1988
Illustrated dictionary of fashion-related terms. The book is arranged alphabetically, but includes categories as well. Contains biographical sketches and photographs of fashion designers in a 150-page appendix.
Fashion Dictionary by
Call Number: Carothers Ref. TT503 .F37 2006
Publication Date: 2006
"More than 4,500 entries. Roughly one hundred contributors to this encyclopedia: fashion historians, writers, great names of lifestyle journalism and trade reporting."
Historical Dictionary of the Fashion Industry by
Call Number: Carothers Ref. TT494 .S84 2008
Publication Date: 2008
"... examines the origin and history of this billion-dollar industry by way of a list of acronyms and abbreviations, a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced entries on designers, models, couture houses, significant articles of apparel and fabrics, trade unions, and the international trade organizations."
The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Fashion and Fashion Designers by
Call Number: Carothers Ref. GT507 .O53 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Covers 1840-1980. Concentrates on major fashion capitals of the world: Paris, London, New York, Rome, Milan. Includes artists, designers, publications editors, photographers, manufacturers and individuals whose style put a personal stamp on a period of fashions such as Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis or Kathryn Hepburn.
Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion by
Call Number: Carothers Ref. GT507 .E54 2010
Publication Date: 2010
"Published in summer 2010 in print and online, the 10-volume Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion is the first comprehensive reference work to explore all aspects of dress and fashion globally - from pre-history to the present day. Arranged geographically and written by an international team of experts, the Encyclopedia will serve as the go-to source for all issues relating the art and anthropology of costume, dress, and fashion the world over for students, scholars, members of the design and fashion industries, and fashion aficionados for years to come.
The Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion brings together for the first time the work of over 600 renowned scholars from every part of the globe. All articles have been specially commissioned and particular effort has been made to commission articles by indigenous scholars with in-depth local knowledge." - Publisher summary
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion by
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating GT507 E53 2005
Contains 640 essays of global and interdisciplinary scope covering both the specific and broader issues relating to clothing and fashion. Contains bibliographies and index.
Encyclopedia of Textiles by
Call Number: Carothers Ref. TS1309 .J47 1992
Publication Date: 1992
"A reference to the characteristics of textiles of all types and their history and manufacture. Attentively written and produced, with some 200 illustrations many from the author's own collection which carry both aesthetic and technical content. Intended for an audience interested in fiber, fabric, and fashion." Annotation copyright Book News, Inc. Portland, Or.
In an Influential Fashion : An Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-and Twentieth-Century Fashion Designers and Retailers Who Transformed Dress by
Call Number: Carothers Ref. TT505 .A1 I5 2002
Publication Date: 2002
"The authors offer profiles of 164 fashion designers and retailers from many countries who have had the most impact on American dress and culture from the late 19th century through the year 2000. Each entry introduces a fashion personality or retailer whose influence on the industry reflected societal, political, and/or economic change. The commercial side of fashion, neglected in most fashion encyclopedias, is explored here, with details of licensing agreements and marketing innovations not easily found elsewhere." - Publisher summary
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.