Need Help?
Introduction
This is a guide to selected information on Fashion Merchandising available in the URI Libraries.
Fashion merchandising relies on literature of fashion production, finance, retailing, promotion and trends, textiles, human resources, consumer behavior, management and marketing.
To find books on this topic, conduct a subject search in the URI Libraries Search using subject headings such as:
Clothing trade
Clothing trade -- United States
Fashion Merchandising
Fashion Merchandising -- United States
Retail Trade
Consumer Behavior
Textile Industry
- URI Libraries Search
This link opens in a new window
Locate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
Articles & Databases
- AtoZdatabases This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Directory information for residences and businesses across the US. Allows searching by name but also by addresses, zip codes, and more. Results can be emailed and downloaded in a variety of standard formats.
- What else should I know? Provided by AskRI.org. Available to Rhode Island residents only.
- D&B Hoovers (Mergent) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Offers detailed company and industry profiles on over 188 million businesses, both public and private, around the world. Company profiles include description of business, company history, key financials and stock information, links to SEC filings, and list of competitors. Industry profiles offer industry description, competitive landscape, products and technology, finance and regulation, industry indicators and trends, and list of companies in the industry. Reports and data can be downloaded.
- What else should I know? Hoover's does not always work well in Firefox; if you are asked to log in, switch to a different browser.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? News, law, and business information service. Includes news from national and international newspapers; wire services and articles from hundreds of periodicals; and a number of other reference sources. All sources are full-text. Updated daily.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Covers over 10,000 U.S. publicly-traded companies and selected international companies. Unique information provided includes property owned or leased, long-term debt (loans and bonds), and details on all capital stock, with annual high/lows and outstanding shares. Also offers earning estimates, institutional holdings, insider trades, stockholder equity, up to 15 years of annual and quarterly financial statements, and downloadable annual reports.
- What else should I know? Archival information is provided for over 4,000 companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, or merged out of existence from 1995 onward. Key financial information from Dun & Bradstreet is also provided on over 400,000 global private companies. Users may perform custom searches and build reports, convert currency, and download financial information to a spreadsheet.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos, and more.
- Textile Technology Index (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations and abstracts for over 400 periodical titles and for thousands of titles drawn from sources such as books, conferences, theses, technical reports, and trade literature on topics relating to the scientific and technological aspects of textile production and processing. Coverage is international in scope and includes related subjects such as the management of textile production and the apparel, home furnishings, flooring, and polymer industries.
- Value Line Research Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Encompasses information services covering the following types of securities: Common stocks of small, mid and large-cap companies, stocks of emerging growth companies, mutual funds, stock and stock index options, and convertible securities. Stock reports include current and historical data, income statements, balance sheets, and 3-5 year price and earnings projections. Also includes other stock evaluation tools and pre-set and custom model portfolios.
- Vogue Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? High resolution images of the entire run of Vogue.
- What dates are covered? From 1892 to present.
- Women's Wear Daily Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? A comprehensive archive of Women’s Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to material from within the last twelve months, reproduced in high-resolution images. Every page, article, advertisement and cover has been included, with searchable text and indexing.
- What dates are covered? 1910 - Present.
Related LibGuides @ URI
There are a number of other subject guides that are relevant to the topic of Fashion Merchandising:
- Company InformationContains sources of information about companies. Take a look at the Profiles & Histories tab / Reference Databases box. Use Hoover's Academic to access company profiles that include description of business, company history, key financials and stock information, links to SEC filings, and list of competitors.
- Consumer BehaviorContains sources of information about consumer behavior, such as the "Who's Buying" series and other books and online resources.
- Government StatisticsContains links to the U.S. Census and other online sources such as the Statistical Abstract.
- International BusinessContains sources of information about international business; such as international companies, global industry information, and country information.
- Marketing and AdvertisingContains information about marketing, brand names, market shares and demographics.
- Textile TechnologyContains sources of information about textiles; such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, manuals and directories.
About this guide...
This guide was originally created in 1999 by Margaret J. Keefe. Revised by Margaret J. Keefe 4/2004.
Updated and reformatted by Madge Boldt 3/2012.
Reviewed by Katie Leahy, 6/2013.
Updated by Mark Matook, 2/2018.