Need Help?
Federal Register
- The Federal Register is updated daily. It is also indexed monthly and the
monthly indexes cumulate throughout the year. Includes all federal regulations required by Congress to be
published as well as Presidential proclamations and executive orders. Each issue contains
a comprehensive contents section listing by agency all documents in that issue and a guide
noting which regulations were affected by these documents. There are several ways to access the Federal Register and/or search its contents. See the links below for more information.
- CIS Federal Register IndexGovt Pub Index Area KF49.C6ss: 1984-1998
Weekly, monthly, and semiannual cumulation. Published privately, an easier-to-use index of the Federal Register than the official version. Indexes by subject, agency name, and CFR section number. - Federal Register via GovInfoVol. 1(1936)-
- Federal Register, Microform and Print, 1936-1984Govt Pub Mezzanine AE2.106: 1936-2004 (Print)
Govt Pub Microform Area AE2.106: 1977-2001.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations and abstracting of congressional publications and the full text of congressional hearings, reports, documents, prints, bills, and the Congressional Record. Also includes the text of United States laws and regulations, biographical and voting information of members of congress, and more. Updated daily.
- The Federal Register: What It is and How to Use ItGovt Pub Reference AE 2.108:F 31/2
This is a handbook developed by the Office of the Federal Register. It provides a basic overview of the federal rulemaking process and discusses how to use both the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations.
Code of Federal Regulations
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) presents a codification of the regulations published in the Federal Register. The CFR is divided into 50 titles (broad subject areas). Each title is in turn divided into chapters generally corresponding to issuing agencies, and into parts. An “index volume” arranged by subject and agency names identifies the appropriate title and part for the user.
- Code of Federal RegulationsURI Reference KF70 A3
Latest Edition Only - CFR via Govinfo1996-.
- CFR via Nexis Uni1980-.
Scroll down to Nexis Uni. Database indexes Congressional publications back to 1879. To access regulations click on the "regulations" link on the left menu and you will be able to complete a keyword search in either the Code of Federal Regulations or the Federal Register. - Index to the Code of Federal RegulationsURI Ref KF70 A345
Commercially published index that is more comprehensive and detailed than the “index volume” that is included with the Code of Federal Regulations. Index is by subject, agency name, and geographical location. - CFR: List of Sections AffectedURI Ref KF70 A32
1949-2000 in Reference Area, and online via GPO Access
Monthly, with quarterly cumulations.
The “List of Sections Affected” is designed to lead users of the CFR to amendments and changes published in the Federal Register. The January, April, July and October issues are retained until the December cumulation is received.
Regulations.gov
- Regulations.gov
This link opens in a new window
Search for Proposed Rules and Rules, as well as Notices from the Federal Register. Documents such as Public Comments and Supporting and Related Materials are often associated with these regulations, and can also be found on this site.
