Need Help?
Finding Articles
Consult articles once you've created a research question or thesis and want to look at your topic in detail. If you are just starting out and don't have a good sense of your topic yet, check out "Finding Background Information" first.
The databases on this page provide access to scholarly, popular, and news articles. Some databases will lead you directly to the full text of an article while others will help you find abstracts (summaries) for articles that you'll need to track down elsewhere.
If you have any trouble finding what you need, just ask a librarian! For a refresher, check out our guide.
To browse a specific journal, search for it by name in URI's Journal Search or browse for journals by subject on BrowZine!
- E-Journal List - URI Journal SearchEnter the title of the journal or newspaper you're looking for to find access quickly!
- BrowZineAn app that lets you browse journals by discipline or search by title. You can save journals or articles to a personalized bookshelf for later use!
Suggested Databases
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? More than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
- What dates are covered? Mid-1960's - Present.
- What’s included? More than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to and abstracts of journals and other materials in education, including teacher education, testing, measurement, and evaluation. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1966 - Present.
- Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective: 1905-1983 (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to articles, book reviews, books, and book chapters in library and information studies, as well as citations to library school theses. Also includes full text from 69 years of the Wilson Library Bulletin.
- What dates are covered? 1905 - 1983.
- What’s included? Citations to articles, book reviews, books, and book chapters in library and information studies, as well as citations to library school theses. Also includes full text from 69 years of the Wilson Library Bulletin.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Archival journal collections in many disciplines, scholarly e-books, images, and primary source materials from institutions worldwide.
- What else should I know? Many journals in JSTOR have an embargo (called the "Moving Wall") on their most recent articles, generally ranging from 3-5 years. Other databases will provide more current results.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to and full text of over 8,500 journals and magazines, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers a wide range of academic subjects including the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and more.
- What dates are covered? Coverage varies, but generally covers the mid 1990s - present. Updated daily.
- Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
- Web of Science Core Collection (Clarivate) This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Access to Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1900-present), and Book Citation Index (2005-present). Contains citations to articles from over 10,000 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
- What else should I know? Searching by cited reference allows the user to uncover the research that influenced an author’s work or to navigate forward in time to discover a paper’s impact on current research.
- Digital Library of Information Science and TechnologyThe Digital Library of Information Science and Technology (DLIST) archive is a cross-institutional, subject-based, open access digital archive for the Information Sciences, including Archives and Records Management, Library and Information Science, Information Systems, Digital Curation, Museum Informatics, records management and other critical information infrastructures.
- e-LIS: e-prints in Library and Information Sciencee-LIS is an international digital repository for Library and Information Science (LIS), including Communication.
Citation Managers
Citation managers are amazing tools that help you keep your sources organized and produce bibliographies in your chosen citation style. You can group sources according to project, tag them with labels, and even annotate them within your citation manager. RefWorks and Zotero are reference managers with some bonus features. URI pays for your access to RefWorks; Zotero is a "freemium" product, meaning you get a certain amount of storage for free, but once you hit the limit (300 MB), you will need to pay for additional storage.