Need Help?
Where to start your book search
The Robert L. Carothers Library and Learning Commons contains a wide variety of books to support your course work in GSLIS. Whether you're exploring issues in reference, technology, cataloging, management, ethics, archives, or information literacy, the library offers both print and electronic resources to meet your needs.
Search the catalog by keyword, subject, author or title. Identify the items you need and follow the Library of Congress call number to the proper locations.
- URI Libraries SearchLocate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
- Interlibrary Loan - FormsRequest materials from other libraries using InterLibrary Loan. Request forms can be found on this page.
Other places to search for books
Here are some Open Access (freely available) options for book searching!
- Google BooksOffers a somewhat random search of books scattered across the country. Some full text searching of books, and some full text viewing of out-of-copyright materials. You may be able to request books viewed via Interlibrary Loan.
- WorldCat.org This link opens in a new window"WorldCat.org is a resource for locating unique, trustworthy materials that you often can’t find anywhere except in a library. By connecting thousands of libraries’ collections in one place, WorldCat.org makes it easy for you to browse the world’s libraries from one search box." You may be able to request titles through an Interlibrary loan.
- Internet Archive"The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, people with print disabilities, and the general public."
Keyword vs. subject searching: Which is best?
- InfoRhodeThese short information literacy tutorials will help you learn, or refresh, basic college-level information research skills. They explain how to find, evaluate, and cite books and periodical articles using the University Libraries' catalog and databases.
Citation Managers
RefWorks and Zotero are reference managers with some bonus features. URI pays for your access to RefWorks; Zotero is a "freemium" product, meaning you get a certain amount of storage for free, but once you hit the limit (300 MB), you will need to pay for additional storage.