Need Help?
Welcome!
This guide will help you find a variety of sources for your Women Can't Win project. Main sources are on this page, but if you're looking for more information, feel free to explore the other pages of this guide.
If you would like a short orientation (or refresher!) on using Library resources, the InfoRhode Tutorials tab will help you get started.
If you have additional questions or would like more help, please click on the "Need Help?" tab.
Happy researching!
Citing Sources
Having correct citations helps you show your work and it helps your readers find more information on the topic. Here are a few tools that can help you format your citations.
- Citing Correctly and Avoiding PlagiarismProvides examples of MLA and Chicago format to help you create citations.
Recommended Research Starting Points
- URI Libraries Search
This link opens in a new window
Locate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries. - Institute for Women's Policy Research
- This link opens in a new window
"Conducts rigorous research and disseminates its findings to address the needs of women, promote public dialogue, and strengthen families, communities, and societies." - League of Women in Government - Resources
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a variety of reports on women in government and in the workplace.
- America: History and Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to and the full text of hundreds of full-text history journals about the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes features such as the ability to search by time period.
- What dates are covered? 1955 to the present
- PAIS Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to journal articles, books, government publications, research & conference reports, publications of international agencies, and other materials from over 120 countries. Covers topics related to public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1914 - Present.
Additional Databases
If you're interested in exploring further, the databases below will take you to more targeted academic articles.
- EconLit (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? EconLit, produced by the American Economic Association, is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature, covering all fields of economics. Indexes journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and book reviews. The database contains more than 1.2 million records.
- What dates are covered? 1886 - present
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Archival journal collections in many disciplines, scholarly e-books, images, and primary source materials from institutions worldwide.
- What else should I know? Many journals in JSTOR have an embargo (called the "Moving Wall") on their most recent articles, generally ranging from 3-5 years. Other databases will provide more current results.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos, and more.
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? The international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Citations and abstracts for journals, books, dissertations, and conference papers in areas such as social structure, inequality, social change, and social problems. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1952 - Present.