Need Help?
Finding Articles
There are several databases that can help you locate articles on History-related topics. For more information on these and other applicable databases, please stop by the Info & Research Help Desk.
History-related databases are listed under URI Library > Find Articles & Online Resources > Arts & Humanities, but it is a good idea to peruse some of the other subject areas as they may have databases that cover your topic.
You can get to a complete list of databases from: URI Library > Find Articles & Online Resources > All Databases by Title.
- America: History and Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to and the full text of hundreds of full-text history journals about the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes features such as the ability to search by time period.
- What dates are covered? 1955 to the present
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Archival journal collections in many disciplines, scholarly e-books, images, and primary source materials from institutions worldwide.
- What else should I know? Many journals in JSTOR have an embargo (called the "Moving Wall") on their most recent articles, generally ranging from 3-5 years. Other databases will provide more current results.
Older Articles
- C.R.I.S. : the combined retrospective index set to journals in history, 1838-1974Call Number: URI Reference Z6205 C18ISBN: 0840801815
The databases above might not go back as far as you'd like. You may need to consult the print sources below.
- Combined retrospective index set to journals in political science, 1886-1974Call Number: URI Reference Z7163 C65ISBN: 0840801866
If it's in WorldCat (or a Database), but not available locally...
For these items, you'll need to use Interlibrary Loan, a free service that locates books and articles in other libraries and brings them to URI for you.
For books, delivery can take up to a month, so it's wise to start your research early enough to allow for delivery. Articles take approximately 1 week.
Once you've identified what you need, fill out the appropriate Interlibrary Loan form for what you're requesting. Articles are usually delivered via email. If you requested a book. you'll receive an email when the item is ready for pick up at the Circulation Desk.