This guide is an introduction to sources of information on Journalism that are available at URI in both print and electronic/online formats. It describes types of materials and provides selected items which can be helpful with your research.
What's included? Citations to and full text of over 8,500 journals and magazines, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers a wide range of academic subjects including the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and more.
What dates are covered? Coverage varies, but generally covers the mid 1990s - present. Updated daily.
What's included? Reports researched and written by journalists, on a variety of current topics. Reports include an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
What’s included? Gale Directory Library offers access to two titles: the Encyclopedia of Associations. National Organizations of the U.S., a comprehensive source of information on nonprofit membership organizations in the United States; and the Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media, which contains listings for radio and television stations, cable companies, and print media publications.
What’s included? Comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. It has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Updated twice a month.
What dates are covered? Mostly 1970s - present, with some older coverage
What’s included? Full text of back runs of core scholarly journals in many disciplines, scholarly e-books, and primary source archival materials.
What else should I know? Many journals in JSTOR have an embargo (called the "Moving Wall") on their most recent articles, generally ranging from 3-5 years. Other databases will provide more current results.
What’s included? News, law, and business information service. Includes news from national and international newspapers; wire services and articles from hundreds of periodicals; and a number of other reference sources. All sources are full-text. Updated daily.
What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
What’s included? The international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Citations and abstracts for journals, books, dissertations, and conference papers in areas such as social structure, inequality, social change, and social problems. Updated monthly.