Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Permanent Links to Articles and Online Resources

How can you share links to articles in databases while respecting copyright and crediting authors properly? This guide provides tips for doing this.
If you're looking to ethically share articles from databases, or you want to bookmark articles for later, having the "permanent link" (sometimes called the persistent link, permalink, or permanent URL) is important to ensure access.
Even though it seems intuitive to copy the link from the browser's address bar, these URLs often contain session-specific information that will break the link if it's used later.
Here's how to find the correct link to share or save.

URI Libraries Search

Use links in the URI Libraries Search to connect students with articles, ebooks, videos, and more.

To get the permanent link, make sure you're viewing the detailed information about the item, and click on the Permalink icon.

Copy the link that appears below and paste it wherever you'd like to share it.

Screenshot of URI Libraries Search with permalink option indicated

EBSCO Databases

EBSCO databases call their permanent links Permalinks and you can access them easily when you're looking at the detailed information about your article or source.

When you're on the item details, click on the Permalink option on the right side of the page.

The page will reload, and you'll see the permanent link appear right above the title of the article. Copy this link and use it wherever you need access to this specific item.

undefined

ProQuest Databases

ProQuest databases call the link the "Document URL." You can find the link on the Details page for the source.

Screenshot of ProQuest database information with "Details" tab indicated

 

Scroll down the Details page to find the Document URL.

Screenshot of Details page in ProQuest database with Document URL indicated

Gale Databases

Gale databases feature a Get Link button at the top of the page that provides easy access to permanent links.

Screenshot of Gale database page with the Get Link button indicated

Other Databases

Other databases may require some exploration. For example, Inspec (Engineering Village) puts access to the permanent link under an icon that looks like a chat bubble.

Screenshot of Inspec detailed record with share chat bubble icon indicated

 

Similarly, Nexis Uni puts access to the permanent link under a menu that says "Actions."

Nexis Unit detailed record with Actions menu indicated

What it there's no permalink?

In some cases, there may not be a permanent link to the article, and you may need to use the browser URL. There are a couple of things to look for when using the browser URL as a substitute.

First, make sure you're accessing the article through the URI Libraries' proxy server. You can determine this if you look at the URL in the browser's address bar and check to see if you see uri.idm.oclc.org is part of the address as shown in the example below.

screenshot of browser URL containing URI's proxy server information

 

Second, look for a series of numbers and/or letters that resemble a Digital Object Identifier (DOI). A DOI is a unique identifying code assigned to ensure perpetual access to an article wherever it's posted. Usually the series starts with 10. and may include a variety of characters after it. (Read more about DOIs at the DOI System website.)

screenshot of URL with a DOI shown at the end

 

If both of these elements are present, the link from the browser's address bar should work as long as URI has continued access to the item.

Need help?

Click on the black arrow to open the chat in a new window.

If we're not online, please email us at urilibrarian@gmail.com. Please allow 1 business day for a response.

Created by Amanda Izenstark, 06/20.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.