Use links in the URI Libraries Search to connect students with articles, ebooks, videos, and more.

To get the permanent link, make sure you're viewing the detailed information about the item, and click on the Permalink icon.

Copy the link that appears below and paste it wherever you'd like to share it.

Many of our databases will connect you to the full text of articles via the LibKey service. To capture the permalinks for those articles, click on the expansion menu in the bottom right corner of the screen.

That will take you back to the URI Libraries Search where you can access the permalink.

EBSCO databases call their permanent links Permalinks and you can access them easily when you're looking at the detailed information about your article or source.

When you're on the item details, click on the Permalink option on the right side of the page.

The page will reload, and you'll see the permanent link appear right above the title of the article. Copy this link and use it wherever you need access to this specific item.

ProQuest databases call the link the "Document URL." You can find the link on the Details page for the source.

Scroll down the Details page to find the Document URL.

Our subscription to the Providence Journal via NewsBank provides an easy link that can be pasted into Brightspace.

Navigate to the article you want to link to, and click on the chain icon at the top of the page.

A window will open and provide the permanent link that you can copy and paste as needed.

Gale databases feature a Get Link button at the top of the page that provides easy access to permanent links.

JSTOR offers both a Stable URL (good for citations) and a Remote Access URL, which is perfect for bookmarking and/or sharing with students/collaborators. The links are located on the left side of the page.

O'Reilly Online Learning provides a PDF of instructions on how to share playlists and provide deep links to content and chapters.

Other databases may require some exploration. For example, Inspec (Engineering Village) puts access to the permanent link under an icon that looks like a chat bubble.

Similarly, Nexis Uni puts access to the permanent link under a menu that says "Actions."

In some cases, there may not be a permanent link to the article, and you may need to use the browser URL. There are a couple of things to look for when using the browser URL as a substitute.

First, make sure you're accessing the article through the URI Libraries' proxy server. You can determine this if you look at the URL in the browser's address bar and check to see if you see uri.idm.oclc.org is part of the address as shown in the example below.

Second, look for a series of numbers and/or letters that resemble a Digital Object Identifier (DOI). A DOI is a unique identifying code assigned to ensure perpetual access to an article wherever it's posted. Usually the series starts with 10. and may include a variety of characters after it. (Read more about DOIs at the DOI System website.)

If both of these elements are present, the link from the browser's address bar should work as long as URI has continued access to the item.

Click on the black arrow to open the chat in a new window.

Chat is available during our regular hours.
If we're not online, please email us at urilibrarian@gmail.com. Please allow 1 business day for a response.