Need Help?
Mechanical Engineering Reference Books
Dictionary of mechanical engineering (4th edition) by Call Number: URI Ref TJ9 N28 1996ISBN: 1560917547Publication Date: 1996Basic terms in the field.
The CRC handbook of mechanical engineering. 2nd ed. 2005 by Call Number: URI Ref TJ151 C73 2005ISBN: 0849308666Publication Date: 2005Comprehensive collection of formulas, articles on the theories and math of the field, specifications, materials, etc.
You can search for resources in the catalog using the keyword "mechanical engineering" and other technical terms, or you can browse through the shelves of the Reference Collection. The mechanical engineering books will be filed under TJ in both the reference stacks on the first floor and the regular stacks on the second level of the library.
These are some examples of mechanical engineering books from the reference section.
Eshbach's handbook of engineering fundamentals by
Call Number: URI Reference TA151 E8 2009ISBN: 9780470085783Little explanation, but large numbers of physical data tables, lists of symbols and standard units, and brief definitions of terms. Very little on industry or manufacturing.Mechanical engineers' handbook by
Call Number: URI Ref TJ151 M395 2006ISBN: 9780471449904Four volumes of long, in-depth articles on all aspects of Mechanical Engineering, with loads of physical data, charts, diagrams, and references. While the main emphasis is on Mechanical Engineering and materials science, there are lengthy selections on control, instrumentation, and management/manufacturing topics.
Shigley's mechanical engineering design by Call Number: URI Ref TJ230 S5 2008ISBN: 0073121932Publication Date: 2008Detailed discussion of the underlying mathematics of design along with examples and case studies of the use of the equations.
Springer handbook of mechanical engineering by Call Number: URI Ref TJ151 S675 2009ISBN: 9783540491316Publication Date: 2009Includes discussion of the fundamental theories and problems in the field of mechanical engineering along with resources and information on tools and materials.Standard handbook of engineering calculations by
Call Number: URI Ref TA332 S73 2005ISBN: 0071427937Common applied problems in 13 engineering disciplines and step-by-step solutions.
Electromechanical Design Handbook by Call Number: URI Reference REF TJ163 .W35 2000ISBN: 0071348123Publication Date: 2000Handbook includes information on electrical/electronic products in mechanical design, electronic component data, circuit element equations, design practices, mechanical and machine design processes and practices and information on product liability and patents.
Machinery's Handbook by ISBN: 9780831128005Publication Date: 2008-02-01- Mechanical engineering reference manual. 9th ed. 1995. byCall Number: URI Ref TJ159 L5 1995Study book for the NCESS Professional Engineering examination. Contains examples and practice problems.
