Need Help?
Books at URI
CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating QP141 B52 2011ISBN: 9781439848449Publication Date: 2011Reference book of terms and definitions related to nutrition and health. Includes many common medical terms and some descriptions of nutrition-related genetic diseases.
Bowes and Church's Food Values of Portions Commonly Used by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating TX551 P385 2010ISBN: 9780781781343Publication Date: 2009Data on the nutritional values of food based on common measures of portions frequently served. Measures values of vitamins, minerals, fat, cholesterol, water, sugar, protein, etc.
Diet and Nutrition Sourcebook by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating RA784 D542 2006ISBN: 0780808002Publication Date: 2005Provides basic information about nutrition including dietary guidelines, Food Guide Pyramid, advice for specific age groups, current issues in nutrition, food labeling, and recent developments in nutritional research.
The Cambridge World History of Food by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non-Circulating TX353 C255 2000ISBN: 052140214XPublication Date: 1999Includes a collection of scholarly essays arranged topically, a dictionary of the world's plant foods, many tables, figures and maps, and subject and name indexes. Essays include bibliographies
The Oxford Companion to Food by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating TX349 D365 2014ISBN: 9780199677337Publication Date: 2014Provides historical origins and uses of edible plants, animals, and man-made foods.
Wiley Encyclopedia of Food Science and Technology, 4 Volume Set by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating TP368.2 E62 2000ISBN: 0471192856Publication Date: 1999Comprehensive guide to information on physical and biological properties of food, quality enhancements, preservation, creation of new foods, food processing, storage and distribution.
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating QP141 E526 2013ISBN: 9780123750839Publication Date: 2013Broad-based coverage of nutrition and diet in three volumes. Includes scholarly articles with bibliographies, illustrations, appendixes and an index.Food Safety Sourcebook: Basic Consumer Health Information About the Safe Handling of Meat by
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating TX531 F5685 1999ISBN: 0780803264Part I covers principles of food safety and food handling. Part II, "Common Foodborne Pathogens" covers bacteria, protozoa, and parasites. The consumer's food handler's, and government's roles in food safety.
Handbook of Food Additives by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating TX553 A3 A84 2002ISBN: 1890595365Several dictionaries in one: Trade name reference, chemical dictionary/cross reference, functional cross reference, manufacturers directory. Various identifying numbers for the additives used in each. Several appendixes provide cross references.
Pearson's Composition and Analysis of Foods by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating TX545 K53 1991ISBN: 0582409101Publication Date: 1991Includes information on procedures, tests, typical results, discussion of analyzing foods and additives. Many useful tables.
The Corinne T. Netzer Encyclopedia of Food Values by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating TX551 N42 1992ISBN: 0440503671Publication Date: 1992Entries include foods listed alphabetically with accompanying values of calories, protein, total fat, saturated fat, cholesterol, sodium and fiber. Separate section lists the vitamin content of foods.
Nutrients Catalog by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating QP141 N48 1993ISBN: 0899507840Publication Date: 1993Information on "vitamins, minerals, amino acids, macronutrients--beneficial use, helpers, inhibitors, food sources, intake recommendations and symptoms of over or under use."A Consumer's Dictionary of Food Additives: Descriptions in Plain English of More than 12,000 Ingredients Both Harmful and Desirable Found in Foods by
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating TX553 A3 W55 2004ISBN: 1400052327Completely revised and updated. 6th ed. Definition, use and effect (harm and benefit) for each. Shopping advice and appendixes on allergies, harmful substances, recommended daily allowances.
Created and Revised by
Robin Devin & Jim Kinnie rev. 5/01; Larry Kelland rev. 9/02; James Austin 07/10; Anthony Loffredio rev. 5/13; Lauren Morrissette updated 6/18