Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of Paleontology by
Call Number: QE703 E523 1999 v.1&2
Publication Date: 1999
This two-volume encyclopedia includes information on paleontology according to the following divisions: analytical approaches, biology and behavior, evolutionary concepts, geography and environment, individuals, morphology, paleontology as a discipline, patterns in the history of life, practical approaches, regional overviews, stratigraphic and fossil record, and taxa. Most articles include works cited, as well as suggestions for further reading. This resource includes drawn diagrams, charts and black and white photographs. The back of the second volume provides a taxonomic index, general index, a listing of paleontological journals and a directory of contributor and adviser addresses.
Grzimek's Encyclopedia of evolution by
Call Number: URI Reference QE711.2 G79
Publication Date: 1976
This one-volume encyclopedia includes information on evolution theory, paleontology, the animal kingdom, and early histories of the earth; it's plants, mammals, and various organisms. This resource includes color photographs and drawn diagrams. In the back of the book you will find systematic classification, conversion tables, supplementary readings, picture credits, an index, and a list of abbreviations and symbols used throughout the book.
The Encyclopedia of Dinosaurs by
Call Number: URI Reference QE861.3 D596 2008
Publication Date: 2008
This encyclopedia provides color illustrations of 270 of the best known dinosaurs. All articles provide information such as distribution, classification, name meaning, named by, time, size, lifestyle, species, and features. This book is organized chronologically and includes a table of classification that highlights the evolution of dinosaurs.
The Encyclopedia of Paleontology by
Call Number: URI Reference QE703 E52
Publication Date: 1982
This one volume encyclopedia is volume VII of the Encyclopedia of earth science series. Most articles in this resource include references and cross-references. There are both hand-drawn sketches as well as charts in this book. In the front of the book there is a preface on how to use the encyclopedia as well as a list of the many contributors to this book. The back of the book includes an index.
Other Print Resources
Atlas of Invertebrate Macrofossils by
Call Number: URI Reference QE770 A86 1985
Publication Date: 1985
This atlas was published in collaboration with the Paleontological Association and provides illustrated (pictures and drawings) classification of invertebrate macrofossils. All articles include brief descriptions of diagnostic features, stratigraphic ranges, graphical distribution, and many times it's paleoecology. This is a great tool in helping identify commonly occurring fossils. This book includes a taxonomic index, detailed list of contributors, and generalized time scale for the Phanerozoic.
The Fossil Record 2 by
Call Number: URI Reference QE723 F67 1993
Publication Date: 1993
This resource includes information on the fossils of basal groups, animals (vertebrates and invertebrates), and plants. The beginning of the book includes a table of contents, geological time scale, and a comparison to the 1967 fossil record. Most articles include black and white photographs, diagrams, charts, and references. An index can be found in the back of the book.
The Princeton Field Guide to Dinosaurs by
Call Number: URI Reference QE861.4 .P387 2010
Publication Date: 2010
"World-renowned dinosaur illustrator and researcher Gregory Paul provides comprehensive visual and textual coverage of the great Mesozoic animals that gave rise to the living dinosaurs, the birds. Paul presents thorough descriptions of more than 735 dinosaur species and features more than 600 color and black-and-white images, including unique skeletal drawings, "life" studies, and scenic views".
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.