Need Help?
Getting Started
Databases provide a way to search for articles on a number of topics. When searching in a database, you'll want to use key terms or phrases to find articles like when you search for books in a catalog.
You can search for a title of a work to find out more information about a specific piece of literature or you can search for an author to find out information about the author's works or to find items written by that person.
When searching, you can use a number of terms and combinations of those terms such as:
Garcia Lorca AND La Casa de Bernarda Alba
OR
Garcia Lorca AND women AND drama
Databases
These are some of the databases that will be most helpful to you in finding articles.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Guide to scholarship on language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film. International in scope, the MLA Bibliography covers scholarly publications including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. Full text for more than 1,000 journals.
- What dates are covered? Early 20th century - Present.
- Gale Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Includes work overviews, plot summaries, and explications.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Archival journal collections in many disciplines, scholarly e-books, images, and primary source materials from institutions worldwide.
- What else should I know? Many journals in JSTOR have an embargo (called the "Moving Wall") on their most recent articles, generally ranging from 3-5 years. Other databases will provide more current results.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.
