Below is the schedule for our Spring 2018 Search Savvy Seminar series. 

Sessions are 50 minutes long and open to all URI students, faculty, and staff. Sessions will meet in the Robert L. Carothers Library, room 142, unless otherwise specified.

If you have questions, please contact Amanda Izenstark at amanda@uri.edu.

February

• Manage Research and Citations with RefWorks
  Thursday, February 1 @ 3pm, Robert L. Carothers Library, Room 142
  Friday, February 2 @ 1pm, Robert L. Carothers Library, Room 142
  The RefWorks reference manager helps you efficiently collect research, manage and share citations, and build bibliographies. The Microsoft Word and Google Docs plugins allow you to sync your citations and seamlessly insert them into your work. (If you’d like assistance in installing the Word plug-in, please bring a laptop with you to this session.)
  Presented by:
  Amanda Izenstark, Professor, Reference & Instructional Design Librarian, University Libraries

March

• Manage Research and Citations with Zotero
  Thursday, March 8 @ 3pm, Robert L. Carothers Library, Room 142
  Friday, March 9 @ 1pm, Robert L. Carothers Library, Room 142
  Zotero is a reference and research manager that has recently undergone a major upgrade. In this session, learn how to use this free, open-source tool to organize your research and create citations. Works with Microsoft Word to make writing and citing easier.
  Presented by:
  Bohyun Kim, Associate Professor, Scholarly Technology Librarian, University Libraries

• Plagiarism as Research Misconduct: What Faculty and Grad Students Need to Know
  Thursday March 29 @ 3pm, Robert L. Carothers Library, Room 142
  Friday March 30 @ 1pm, Online at https://rhody.webex.com
  Literature reviews and proposals are frequently based on the published and unpublished work of other researchers in the field. But how do you know if you’re attributing work and citing it correctly? This session will cover common forms of plagiarism and strategies to avoid it.
  Presented by:
  Amanda Izenstark, Professor, Reference & Instructional Design Librarian, University Libraries

   

April

• Tracing a Bill
  Thursday April 12 @ 3pm, Robert L. Carothers Library, Room 142
  Friday April 13 @ 1pm, Robert L. Carothers Library, Room 142
  Keeping track of legislation as it makes its passage through Congress or the General Assembly can seem to be a daunting task.  This session will explain how the legislative process works, where to find the bills and any amendments, and how politics and constituents can play a role in a bill's passage.
  Presented by:
  Deborah Mongeau, Professor, Government Publications Librarian

• What to Do with Research Data
  Friday April 20 @ 1pm, Robert L. Carothers Library, Room 142 
  Thursday April 26 @ 3pm, Robert L. Carothers Library, Room 142
  Researchers are increasingly required to document, preserve, and share their data. This seminar presents an overview of data sharing, such as where to deposit data, how to prepare data for deposit, and how to cite data. We will also discuss how the Libraries can help researchers deposit data in the institutional repository, DigitalCommons@URI, and obtain a DOI for data sets. 
  Presented by:
  Julia Lovett, Assistant Professor, Digital Initiatives Librarian
  Harrison Dekker, Associate Professor, Data Services Librarian

Below is our schedule for our Fall 2017 Search Savvy Seminar series. 

Sessions are 50 minutes long and open to all URI students, faculty, and staff. Sessions will meet in the Robert L. Carothers Library, room 142, unless otherwise specified.

If you have questions, please contact Amanda Izenstark at amanda@uri.edu.

September

• Getting Started @ the Libraries - Thursday 9/7 @ 3pm and Friday 9/8 @ 9am
  Are you a new student, staff, or faculty member? Would you like to learn more about the services and tools the University Libraries offer? In this short session, we’ll cover what the library can do for you, tips for efficient searching, how to get items the Libraries don’t have, and where to get help.
  Presented by:
  Amanda Izenstark, Professor, Reference & Instructional Design Librarian, University Libraries

• Using Scopus to Find Articles, Track Citations, and More - Wednesday 9/13 @ 11am and 2pm
  Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature from around the world. It is useful for citation and article searching, and it is a powerful tool for measuring article impact. Come and learn how to make Scopus work for your research and career!
  Presented by:
  Giacomo Mancini, Customer Consultant, Elsevier

• Managing Research and Citations with RefWorks - Tuesday 9/19 @ 3pm and Friday 9/22 @ 10am
  The RefWorks reference manager helps you efficiently collect research, manage and share citations, and build bibliographies. The Microsoft Word and Google Docs plugins allow you to sync your citations and seamlessly insert them into your work. (If you’d like assistance in installing the Word plug-in, please bring a laptop with you to this session.)
  Presented by:
  Amanda Izenstark, Professor, Reference & Instructional Design Librarian, University Libraries

• Get What You Need, Fast: Interlibrary Loan, Institutional Repositories, and More - Tuesday 9/26 @ 3pm (in-person) and Friday 9/29 at noon (online at rhody.webex.com)
  What's the best way to get a book or article you need for your research if URI doesn't have access? Join us to learn how to use our new Interlibrary Loan system and get additional tips and strategies for locating materials not at URI.
  Presented by:
  Brian Gallagher, Associate Professor, Head of Access Services, University Libraries
  Amanda Izenstark, Professor, Reference & Instructional Design Librarian, University Libraries

October

• Manage Research and Citations with Mendeley - Tuesday 10/3 @ 3pm and Friday 10/6 @ 1pm
  Mendeley is a citation and research manager that also helps you connect with other researchers in your field and share your data. Learn about these major functions in this introductory session, and bring your laptop if you’d like assistance setting up the Microsoft Word plugin.
  Presented by:
  Amanda Izenstark, Professor, Reference & Instructional Design Librarian, University Libraries

• Using Scopus to Find Articles, Track Citations, and More - Wednesday 10/11 @ 11am & 2pm
  Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature from around the world. It is useful for citation and article searching, and it is a powerful tool for measuring article impact. Come and learn how to make Scopus work for your research and career!
  Presented by:
  Giacomo Mancini, Customer Consultant, Elsevier

• Introduction to Finding Social Science Research Data - Tuesday 10/17 @ 3pm and Friday 10/20 @ 1pm
  This workshop will provide a quick overview of commonly used sources of social science data. It will also include a discussion of helpful software and data analysis tools. 
  Presented by:
  Harrison Dekker, Associate Professor, Data Services Librarian, University Libraries

November

• Get Better Search Results: Optimal Search Strategies for Google and Databases - Tuesday 11/14 @ 3pm (in person) and Friday 11/17 @ 12pm (online at rhody.webex.com)
  Different search tools can interpret the same searches in different ways, giving you surprising and sometimes irrelevant results. In this session, get tips for searching search engines and databases that will help you get the results you want.
  Presented by:
  Amanda Izenstark, Professor, Reference & Instructional Design Librarian, University Libraries

• Using Scopus to Find Articles, Track Citations, and More - Wednesday 11/15 @ 11am and 2pm
  Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature from around the world. It is useful for citation and article searching, and it is a powerful tool for measuring article impact. Come and learn how to make Scopus work for your research and career!
  Presented by:
  Giacomo Mancini, Customer Consultant, Elsevier

• Manage Research and Citations with RefWorks - Tuesday 11/28 @ 3pm
  The RefWorks reference manager helps you efficiently collect research, manage and share citations, and build bibliographies. The Microsoft Word and Google Docs plugins allow you to sync your citations and seamlessly insert them into your work. (If you’d like assistance in installing the Word plug-in, please bring a laptop with you to this session.)
  Presented by:
  Amanda Izenstark, Professor, Reference & Instructional Design Librarian, University Libraries

December

• Is Your Research Reproducible? - Friday 12/1 @ 1pm and Tuesday 12/5 @ 3pm 
  Learn more about the reproducibility crisis, how tools like the Open Science Framework can help you contribute to solutions, and about how proper management of your code and data helps you and other researchers.
  Presented by:
  Andrée Rathemacher, Professor, Head of Acquisitions, University Libraries
  Amanda Izenstark, Professor, Reference & Instructional Design Librarian, University Libraries
  Harrison Dekker, Associate Professor, Data Services Librarian, University Libraries