Need Help?
Introduction
Welcome! This is a guide to selected sources of information about mathematics. On this page are some quick links to helpful databases for research, a link to WolframAlpha, and resources for Calculus. To locate books on math concepts, conduct a Subject search in the library catalog for the particular subset of mathematics you are researching; for instance, type in "calculus" and change the drop down menu to Subject Keyword Search to find calculus materials. Similar searches in reference databases such as MathSciNet and Scopus will locate articles.
If you prefer to browse, the majority of pure mathematics books are in the QA section of the library on the 2nd floor; for handbooks and formulae, the QA section of the Reference books on the first floor is the place to look.
- MathSciNet (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Search for articles, books, and proceedings in mathematics. Updated daily.
- What dates are covered? Early 1800s - Present.
- Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
Wolfram Alpha
Wolfram Alpha is a computational engine that is very useful for solving mathematical equations, converting between units of measure, and other mathematical operations.
- Wolfram|Alpha
This link opens in a new window
A computational search engine that generates answers to factual queries using data sets.
Calculus Resources
- Calc101.comProvides online help for some calculus problems and algebra work; requires an account for more advanced calculations, but is good for basic work.
- Calculus.orgContains several links, example tests, and formulae. Calculus.org is useful as a general resource center for studying calculus.
- Multivariable CalculusThis is an online textbook for multivariable calculus recommended by the Math Dept.
Proof Writing Resources
Resources to get you started on proof writing.
- Art of Problem Solving
- This link opens in a new window
This guide includes practice, guides, and books. This guide is about general proof writing and is not specific to Analysis, Algebra, Combinatorics, or Discrete Mathematics. - Introduction to Mathematical Arguments
- This link opens in a new window
A document published by Michael Hutchings on making mathematical arguments. PDF includes explanations, examples as well as practice problems.
Nuts and Bolts of Proofs: An Introduction to Mathematical Proofs by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0123822173Publication Date: 2011The Nuts and Bolts of Proofs: An Introduction to Mathematical Proofs provides basic logic of mathematical proofs and shows how mathematical proofs work. It offers techniques for both reading and writing proofs.- Mathematical Reasoning: Writing and Proof, Version 2.1 by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781492103851Publication Date: 2014Mathematical Reasoning: Writing and Proof is designed to be a text for the first course in the college mathematics curriculum that introduces students to the processes of constructing and writing proofs and focuses on the formal development of mathematics. The primary goals of the text are to help students: Develop logical thinking skills and to develop the ability to think more abstractly in a proof oriented setting. Develop the ability to construct and write mathematical proofs using standard methods of mathematical proof including direct proofs, proof by contradiction, mathematical induction, case analysis, and counterexamples.
LaTeX Resources
LaTeX is a document editor that can help you get your math homework and math papers organized.
- LaTeX Project
- This link opens in a new window
Software download of LaTeX. Includes other TeX typesetting systems. - Overleaf
- This link opens in a new window
An easy to use online LaTeX editor that allows you to work collaboratively on documents. - Learn LaTeX in 30 Minutes
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to learning LaTeX in 30 minutes.
- LATEX : a document preparation system : user's guide and reference manual by Call Number: Carothers Library Stacks Z253.4 L38 L35 1994ISBN: 0201529831Publication Date: 1994LaTeX: a document preparation system : user's guide and reference manual
Created / Updated
Alan Witt, 11/11
Revised, Angela Pugliese, 4/14
Updated, Reina Kirkendall, 12/21