This is the "Home" page of the "Company Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Company Information   Tags: business  

This is a guide to selected sources of information about companies.
Last Updated: Mar 27, 2012 URL: http://uri.libguides.com/company Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Services

Five Ways to Get Research Help

Spring Semester 2012


Visit us
@The Reference Desk

Mon-Thu 9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Fri 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sun 1:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Call Us
(During Reference Hours)

(401) 874-2653


IM Us
(During Reference Hours)

URILibrarian
AOL Instant Messenger (AIM)
or Yahoo!


Text Us
(During Reference Hours)

265010
Start your message with URILibrarian:
For example, URILibrarian:Your message here.


Email Us
(After Reference Hours)

urilibrarian@gmail.com

(Please allow 1-2 business days for a response)

 

Introduction

This is a guide to selected sources of information about companies. To locate books on companies, conduct a subject search in the HELIN Catalog for the name of the company you are researching. To find periodical articles about a company, search the Reference Databases listed under Business, Labor & Economics.

Use the tabs above for help in locating the following information about Companies:

Directories

Profiles and Histories

Financial Statements

Stocks and Bonds

Historical Stock Prices

 

NAICS Codes

"The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy."

Cover Art
North American industry classification system : United States, 2007
Call Number: URI Govt. Pub. PREX 2.6/4:2007
Published every five years, the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is an indispensable volume of official industry codes used by businesses, libraries, and other establishments and individuals to complete tax returns, grant requests, and fill out other forms and to improve analyses and comparisons of different industries.

 

SIC Codes

The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system classifies businesses by type of product or service. While this system has been replaced with the NAICS as of 1997, some directories still have SIC indexes.

 

Location Location!

Where are the journals?

Most journals are available through the library in electronic format. To find the call number for a specific journal or to gain access to an electronic journal, search the HELIN catalog for the title, specifying * Journals * Newspapers *

The print journals start their lives in the Current Periodicals section on the lower level of the library (at the base of the stairs). That is where you will find journals that have been published recently, usually less than a year old.

After about a year, the journals are sent out to be bound into something resembling large books. When they return, the bound journals are sent to an area called The Serial Stacks. Here they will live out the rest of their lives. Please visit them!

To find Business articles by topic, use a reference database that allows keyword searching. Start with this link: Reference Databases for Business, Labor and Economics


Where are the books?

Books with call numbers A through P are located on the third floor.
Books with call numbers Q through Z are located on the second floor.

Except...

The HELIN catalog will tell you if a book is in Reference (location = URI Reference, status = Lib Use Only). The Reference Collection is on the first floor.

A book can also be in Government Publications (location = URI Govt Pub). The Government Publications section is on the first floor and consists of publications produced by both the federal government and the state of Rhode Island.

Some books are located in the Special Collections Library (location = URI RI Collection or URI Archives). The Special Collections Library is on the second floor.

Where are the Business Books?

Most books about business are located on the third floor in the H section (as well as in the Government Publications section).

HB - Economic Theory 
HC - Economic History
HD - Management, Industry, Labor
HE - Transportation, Communications
HF - Commerce, Business Ethics, Accounting, Advertising
HG - Finance, Banking, Investment, Insurance
HJ - Public Finance, Taxation

Contact Information

Profile Image
URI Librarian
Logo - AIM
Contact Info
Kingston: (401) 874-2653
Providence: (401) 277-5130
Narragansett: (401) 874-6161
Send Email
 

About this guide...

This guide was originally created by Andree Rathemacher 8/97; rev. 9/98, 6/99, 9/03, 5/04.

Updated and reformatted by Madge Boldt 12/09.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip