Need Help?
Reference Databases
- D&B Hoovers (Mergent) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Offers detailed company and industry profiles on over 188 million businesses, both public and private, around the world. Company profiles include description of business, company history, key financials and stock information, links to SEC filings, and list of competitors. Industry profiles offer industry description, competitive landscape, products and technology, finance and regulation, industry indicators and trends, and list of companies in the industry. Reports and data can be downloaded.
- What else should I know? Hoover's does not always work well in Firefox; if you are asked to log in, switch to a different browser.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Covers over 10,000 U.S. publicly-traded companies and selected international companies. Unique information provided includes property owned or leased, long-term debt (loans and bonds), and details on all capital stock, with annual high/lows and outstanding shares. Also offers earning estimates, institutional holdings, insider trades, stockholder equity, up to 15 years of annual and quarterly financial statements, and downloadable annual reports.
- What else should I know? Archival information is provided for over 4,000 companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, or merged out of existence from 1995 onward. Key financial information from Dun & Bradstreet is also provided on over 400,000 global private companies. Users may perform custom searches and build reports, convert currency, and download financial information to a spreadsheet.
- Mergent Corporate Manuals (Mergent Archives) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Access to Mergent and Moody's Corporate Manuals.
- What dates are covered? 1909 - Present.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? News, law, and business information service. Includes news from national and international newspapers; wire services and articles from hundreds of periodicals; and a number of other reference sources. All sources are full-text. Updated daily.
Moody's Manuals
Available in the Serial Stacks.
One of the most important sources for historical company information, Moody’s Manuals provide detailed profiles of selected publicly-traded U.S. and international companies. Each profile includes a concise description of the company’s business as well as a corporate history listing significant events such as mergers, acquisitions, stock splits, etc.
Also available online in the reference database Mergent Online:
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Covers over 10,000 U.S. publicly-traded companies and selected international companies. Unique information provided includes property owned or leased, long-term debt (loans and bonds), and details on all capital stock, with annual high/lows and outstanding shares. Also offers earning estimates, institutional holdings, insider trades, stockholder equity, up to 15 years of annual and quarterly financial statements, and downloadable annual reports.
- What else should I know? Archival information is provided for over 4,000 companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, or merged out of existence from 1995 onward. Key financial information from Dun & Bradstreet is also provided on over 400,000 global private companies. Users may perform custom searches and build reports, convert currency, and download financial information to a spreadsheet.
Specific titles:
- Moody's Bank and Finance ManualCall Number: URI Serials Stacks HG4961 .M65The Carothers Library has 1955-2000.
- Moody's Industrial ManualCall Number: URI Serials Stacks HG4961 .M67The Carothers Library has 1954 - 2001.
- Moody's International ManualCall Number: URI Serials Stacks HG4009 .M66The Carothers Library has 1981 - 2000.
- Moody's Manual of Investments : American and foreignCall Number: URI Serials Stacks HG4961 .M71951-1953. Library has:
BANK AND FINANCE 1951-54
INDUSTRIAL SECURITIES 1947-49,1951-53
PUBLIC UTILITIES SECURITIES 1951-53
RAILROADS 1951-53
TRANS. 1952-53 - Moody's OTC Industrial ManualCall Number: URI Serials Stacks HG4961 .M675The Carothers Library has 1970 - 2000.
"Companies traded over the counter or on regional conferences."
Other Print Sources
- Company Profiles for StudentsCall Number: URI Reference HG4057 A27 1999ISBN: 07876293672 volumes.
Presents profiles of over 250 companies and 35 industries, including contact information, statistics, history, and trends, in addition to industry profiles, a glossary, and a general chronology. - International Directory of Company HistoriesCall Number: URI Reference HD2721 I584 1988ISBN: 0912289104Cumulative index, contains 2-5 page historical profiles of the world’s largest and most influential companies. At the end of most profiles is a list of sources for further reading. The Directory consists of over 90 volumes, with 1-3 new volumes added each year.
- Researching divisions, subsidiaries, and products byCall Number: URI Reference HD4061 .R473 2002ISBN: 1563659565“When you need specific information about a firm’s divisions, subsidiaries, or products, even the best data about the parent company doesn’t do the trick. This book gives you the tools you need to penetrate the corporate structure and unearth the facts that are important to you.”
- United States Corporation Histories : A Bibliography, 1965-1985 byCall Number: URI Z7164 T87 N37 1987ISBN: 0824098471Arranged by company name. Lists company histories published from 1965-1985. Includes books, periodical articles, theses, dissertations, pamphlets, and company-produced histories.
- United States Corporation Histories : A Bibliography, 1965-1990 byCall Number: URI Reference Z7164 T87 N37 1991ISBN: 0815306393
On the Internet
- Better Business BureauProvides reports on companies. Includes business profile and contacts, as well as BBB rating and accreditation.