Click on the black arrow to open the chat in a new window.
(Please allow 1-2 business days for a response)
This is a guide to selected sources of information about companies. To locate books on companies, conduct a subject search in the catalog for the name of the company you are researching.
To find periodical articles about a company, search the Reference Databases listed under Business, Labor & Economics:
Use the tabs above for help in locating the following information about Companies:
Profiles and Histories
Stocks and Bonds
Historical Stock Prices
"The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy."
The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system classifies businesses by type of product or service. While this system has been replaced with the NAICS as of 1997, some directories still have SIC indexes.
Most journals are available through the library in electronic format. To find or to gain access to an electronic journal, search the e-Journal List for the title of the periodical you are looking for.
You can find online journals as well as print journals by searching the URI Libraries Search for the title of the specific periodical. To make this easier, you can use the limiters on the left side of the screen to specify you are looking for journals or you can use the "Advanced Search" version to look specifically for journals as well.
The print journals start their lives in the Current Periodicals section on the lower level of the library (at the base of the stairs). That is where you will find journals that have been published recently, usually less than a year old.
After about a year, the journals are sent out to be bound into something resembling large books. When they return, the bound journals are sent to an area called The Serial Stacks. Here they will live out the rest of their lives. Please visit them!
For more on this and how to track down an article from a citation see:
To find articles by topic, use a reference database that allows keyword searching. Start with this link:
Books with call numbers A through P are located on the third floor.
Books with call numbers Q through Z are located on the second floor.
The catalog will tell you if a book is in Reference (location = Carothers Library Reference, status = Non Circulating). The Reference Collection is on the first floor.
A book can also be in Government Publications (location = Carothers Library Govt Pub). The Government Publications section is on the first floor and consists of publications produced by both the federal government and the state of Rhode Island.
Some books are located in Distinctive Collections (location = Carothers Library RI Collection or Carothers Library Archives). The Distinctive Collections unit is on the second floor.
Most books about business are located on the third floor in the H section (as well as in the Government Publications section).
HB - Economic Theory
HC - Economic History
HD - Management, Industry, Labor
HE - Transportation, Communications
HF - Commerce, Business Ethics, Accounting, Advertising
HG - Finance, Banking, Investment, Insurance
HJ - Public Finance, Taxation
Click on the black arrow to open the chat in a new window. If we're not online, please email us at firstname.lastname@example.org. Please allow 1-2 business days for a response.
This guide was originally created by Andree Rathemacher 8/97; rev. 9/98, 6/99, 9/03, 5/04.
Updated and reformatted by Madge Boldt 12/09, A. Rathemacher 5/2013.
Updated by Mark Matook 02/2018.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.