This is the "Home" page of the "Welcome to the Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Welcome to the Library  Tags: library_information  

The Robert L. Carothers Library and Learning Commons extends a warm welcome to all new and returning students, staff and faculty
Last update: Oct 02nd, 2009 URL: http://uri.libguides.com/welcome  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Reference Services

 Four Ways to Get Research Help


Visit us
@The Reference Desk

Mon-Thu 9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Fri 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sun 1:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Call Us
(During Reference Hours)

(401) 874-2653


IM Us
(During Reference Hours)

URILibrarian
AOL Instant Messenger (AIM)
or Yahoo!


  Text Us
(During Reference Hours)

265010
Start your message with URILibrarian:
For example, URILibrarian:Your message here.


Email Us
(After Reference Hours)

urilibrarian@gmail.com

(Please allow 1-2 business days for a response)

 
 

HELIN (Higher Education Library Information Network)

The Library is a member of the HELIN consortium, which, in addition to the University of Rhode Island Libraries, includes most of the libraries of the higher education institutions in RI and their affiliates. The holdings of these libraries, as well as most Rhode Island medical libraries are included in the HELIN online catalog. HELIN may be accessed via the Internet, at http://library.uri.edu/.

 

Circulation Services

Your University ID serves as your Library card; your Library barcode is on the front of your ID. Rhode Island residents age 18 or older may register at the Circulation Desk for a Special Borrower’s Card. Loan periods vary depending on the material and the status of the borrower.  For a description of loan periods and overdue fines, go to the Circulation page on the Library's web site at: http://www.uri.edu/library/circulation/circ.html

 

Reserves Service

The Reserve Collection contains material designated by the University faculty as required reading for specific courses.  High-demand reference material is also kept there.  The collection is located at the Circulation Desk.  The material is borrowed for limited time periods ranging from 2 hours to overnight.  Some material may be accessed electronically.  For more information, go to the Reserves page on the Library's web site at: http://www.uri.edu/library/reserves/reserves.html

 

24 Hour Study Room

Located on the first floor to the right of the lobby, the 24 Hour Study Room is available every night during the Fall and Spring Semesters. To use this room, one must exit the library at 6:00p.m. and re-enter through the entrance located off the library's main entrance lobby.  All library materials must be charged out before re-entering.

 

Food and Drink Policy

Food and beverages may be consumed in the 24 Hour Study Room. In the rest of the building, only securely covered mugs and water bottles are allowed and also "Light Snacks in the Stacks".

 

Photocopying and Printing Services

Multifunction machines which both photocopy and print from computers are located in the 24 Hour Room, Current Periodicals and Reference areas as well as on each floor of the Library.  In addition these machines are also available in the Student Computing Facility located in Room LL4 on the Lower Level.  Both photocopies and computer printouts are $.10 per page for black and white copies and $.25 per page for color copies.  Payment is by  Ram Account or by a guest card.  Guest cards may be purchased at the kiosk located near the Circulation Desk.  A separate kiosk is also available in the same location for adding funds to a Ram Account.

 

Wireless Access

The Library has wireless Internet access.  For more information and directions on how to access the network, go to: http://www.uri.edu/library/laptop.html

 

Reference Service

The Reference Desk is located on the first floor. The non-circulating collection includes indexes, bibliographies, directories, and encyclopedias.  Assistance for all Reference Services is available from the Reference staff most of the hours that the Library is open.  Those needing specialized and in-depth reference assistance may also contact the subject specialist librarians in the appropriate specialty.  Librarians and their corresponding subject areas, along with contact information, may be found at, http://www.uri.edu/library/selectors.html.

 

Reference Databases

The online databases available to URI students, faculty, and staff include Academic Search Premier, LexisNexis Academic, PsycINFO, ERIC, ABI/INFORM, MLA Bibliography, PubMed, CINAHL, and, PAIS, among others which are available through the Library's homepage at http://www.uri.edu/library.  For access to the databases from off campus, please follow the directions on the "Remote Access to Library Online Resources"  page at: http://www.uri.edu/library/remote.html

 

Instructional Services

The Library offers a wide range of instructional programs and services ranging from small group instruction to formal credit bearing courses in Information Literacy.  Demand for this service is high so requests for a library instruction class should be made several days in advance in order to guarantee a space and an instructor.  For more inofrmation on the instructional program and how to request a class, go to http://www.uri.edu/library/instruction_services/instruction.html

 

Interlibrary Loan Service

Books owned by other HELIN libraries may be obtained through HELIN loan. A HELIN loan request is made through the HELIN library catalog. The requestor must be a registered borrower in good standing. Requested material will take approximately 3-7 days to arrive. Material that cannot be obtained through a HELIN loan may be borrowed from another library through Interlibrary Loan. Interlibrary Loan forms and instructions are available on the Library’s home page at http://www.uri.edu/library/.

 

Government Publications

The Library is a depository library for United States and Rhode Island publications. The collection consists of over 850,000 volumes in paper, microfiche, cartographic and CD-ROM formats. In addition, there are over 100,000 titles available in online format which can be accessed through the HELIN catalog. For assistance in using this collection, please contact the Government Publications Office located on the first floor or go to the Government Publications page at: http://www.uri.edu/library/government_publications/govpub.html

 

Curriculum Materials Library

The Curriculum Materials Library (CML), located on the first floor behind the Reference area, primarily serves the instructional and research needs of students and faculty of the School of Education by providing resources in all formats for grades pre-K through 12. Use of some of the collection is restricted to students enrolled in these programs and their faculty only. For more information on the collection and use, go to: http://www.uri.edu/library/cml/index.html

 

Special Collections

Located on the second floor, the Special Collections Department consists of the University Archives, the Rhode Island Collection, and Rare Books. For a description of the contents of these collections and use policies, go to http://www.uri.edu/library/special_collections/. Arrangements for the use of this collection should be made with the Special Collections staff.

 

Media Resources Center

The Media Resources Center (MRC), located on the second floor, houses all the Library’s audiovisual materials and provides facilities for their use. For more information on the contents of the collection, access and use policies and loan periods, go to: http://www.uri.edu/library/media_resources_center/media.html

 

Microform Collection

The Microform Collection is located on the second floor across from the Media Resources Center.  The collection consists of back issues of selected journal and newspaper titles, dissertations, ERIC documents, and some historical collections.  NOTE: government publications in microform format are located with the Government Publications collection on the first floor.  Microforms may be photocopied.  For assistance with the use of this collection, the staff in the Media Resources Center will be happy to help.  For more information on the contents and use of this collection, go to:  http://www.uri.edu/library/microforms/mforms.html

 

Library Student Computing Facility

Operated by Information Technology Services (ITS), the computer lab is located on the Lower Level (Room LL4) and is available to the University community during most hours that the Library is open. Services available include e-mail, word processing, printing capability, Internet access and access to all University supported software programs.

 

Group Study Rooms

The Library has 12 group study rooms available for those who wish study or work in groups of 3 or more.  Rooms are signed out for 3 hour periods.  For more information on using these rooms, go to: http://www.uri.edu/library/circulation/other.html#GroupStudy

 

Research Carrels

A limited number of research carrels are available for use by graduate students and faculty. For those who wish to apply for a carrel, read the policy and the application form or contact the Circulation Desk.

 

Pell Marine Science Library

The Pell Marine Science Library, located on the Bay Campus, houses a specialized collection on oceanography and related sciences. The Pell Library is open to all URI Library patrons. The home page for the Pell Library is http://www.gso.uri.edu/facilities/pell-marine-science-library

 

CCE Library

The CCE Library, located on URI’s Providence Campus, supports the information needs of the Feinstein College of Continuing Education. The Library is open to all URI Library patrons. Information on the CCE Library's collections and services can be found at: http://www.uri.edu/library/cce/cce.html

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait