The URI Libraries provide access to more than 1.5 million books, videos, archival materials, and online resources, as well as articles from tens of thousands of journals. The URI Libraries Search and the Articles & Databases list will start you on your information search.

Your University ID serves as your Library card; your Library barcode is on the front of your ID. Rhode Island residents age 18 or older may register at the Circulation Desk for a Special Borrower’s Card. Loan periods vary depending on the material and the status of the borrower.  For a description of loan periods and overdue fines, go to the Circulation page from the Library's Home Page.

The Reserve Collection contains material designated by the University faculty as required reading for specific courses.  High-demand reference material is also kept there.  The collection is located at the Circulation Desk.  The material is borrowed for limited time periods ranging from 2 hours to overnight.  Some material may be accessed electronically.  For more information, go to the Reserves page from the URI Library Home Page.

Located on the first floor to the right of the lobby, the 24 Hour Study Room is available every night during the Fall and Spring Semesters. To use this room, enter through the entrance located off the library's main entrance lobby.  

Food and beverages may be consumed in the 24 Hour Study Room. In the rest of the building, only securely covered mugs and water bottles are allowed along with light snacks, such as snack bars, pretzels, and bagels.

Multifunction machines (which photocopy, scan text and print from computers) are located in the 24 Hour Room, First Floor Group Study and Learning Commons areas, as well as on each floor of the Library. Both photocopies and printouts are $.10 per page for black and white copies and $.25 per page for color copies.  Scanning is $.05 per page. Payment is by Ram Account or by a guest card.  Guest cards may be purchased at the kiosk located in the 24 Hour Room.  A separate kiosk is also available in the same location for adding funds to a Ram Account.

For issues with copying and printing, contact the ITS Service Desk.

The Library has wireless Internet access.  For more information and directions on how to access the network, go to the URI Office of Information Security Page for Wireless Internet Access.

The Research Help (Reference) Desk is located on the first floor.  The Reference staff may be contacted using the Need More Help? page.  Those needing specialized and in-depth research assistance may also contact the subject specialist librarians in the appropriate specialty.  Librarians and their corresponding subject areas, along with contact information, may be found at the Subject Selectors Page through the URI Library Home Page.

The online databases available to URI students, faculty, and staff include Academic Search Complete, Nexis Uni, APA PsycINFO, ERIC, ProQuest One Business, MLA Bibliography, PubMed, CINAHL, and, PAIS, among others, which are available through the URI Libraries' Home Page.  For access to the databases from off campus, please follow the directions on the Remote Access to Library Online Resources Page.

The Library offers a wide range of instructional programs and services ranging from small group instruction to formal credit bearing courses in Information Literacy.  Demand for this service is high so requests for a library instruction class should be made several days in advance, in order to guarantee a space and an instructor.  For more information on the instructional program and how to request a class, go to Instruction Services and Information Literacy from the URI Library Home Page.

Books owned by other libraries may be obtained through Interlibrary Loan, or through the Ocean State Libraries if you have an Ocean State Libraries card. The requestor must be a registered borrower in good standing. Requested material will take approximately 3-7 days to arrive at your local public library. Interlibrary Loan forms and instructions are available from the URI Library Home Page.

The Library is a depository library for United States and Rhode Island publications. The collection consists of over 850,000 volumes in paper, microfiche, cartographic and CD-ROM formats. In addition, there are over 100,000 titles available in online format which can be accessed through the URI Libraries Search. For assistance in using this collection, please contact the Government Publications Office located on the first floor or go to the Government Publications Home Page.

Located on the second floor, the University Archives and Special Collections Department consists of the University Archives, the Rhode Island Collection, and Rare Books. For a description of the contents of these collections and use policies, go to the University Archives and Special Collections Home Page. Arrangements for the use of this collection should be made with the Distinctive Collections staff.

The Media Collection includes DVDs locating on the first floor of the Library as well as streaming videos. For more information on the contents of the collection, access and use policies and loan periods, go to the Media Collection Home Page.

The Microform Collection is located on the lower level of the Carothers Library.  The collection consists of back issues of selected journal and newspaper titles, dissertations, ERIC documents, and some historical collections.  Microforms may be printed or scanned and emailed.  For assistance with the use of this collection, the staff at the Info & Research Help Desk will be happy to help.  For more information on the contents and use of this collection, go to the Microform Collection Home Page.

The Library has 21 group study rooms available for those who wish study or work in groups of 3 or more.  Rooms are signed out for 3 hour periods.  For more information on using these rooms, go to Circulation: Rooms Home Page.

A limited number of research carrels are available for use by graduate students and faculty. For those who wish to apply for a carrel, read the Research Carrel Policy and the Research Carrel Application form or contact the Circulation Desk.

The Pell Marine Science Library, located on the Bay Campus, houses a specialized collection on oceanography and related sciences. The Pell Library is open to all URI Library patrons.