What's included? Citations to and full text of over 8,500 journals and magazines, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers a wide range of academic subjects including the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and more.
What dates are covered? Coverage varies, but generally covers the mid 1990s - present. Updated daily.
What’s included? The international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Citations and abstracts for journals, books, dissertations, and conference papers in areas such as social structure, inequality, social change, and social problems. Updated monthly.
What’s included? More than 350 U.S. newspapers covering a century and a half of the African American experience. Includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states and features many rare 19th-century titles.
"The African Online Digital Library (AODL) is a portal to multimedia collections about Africa. MATRIX, working in cooperation with the African Studies Center at Michigan State University, is partnering with universities and cultural heritage organizations in Africa to build this resource."
Named after the first African American to receive a Ph.D. from Harvard University in 1895, this website provides links to current research projects, fellows program and other research databases. A project of Harvard University.
This five-volume encyclopedia contains detailed entries on a broad range of topics related to the African and African American experience: historical, political, cultural, and more. Many articles contain illustrations and bibliographies.
This three-volume encyclopedia outlines major topics related to African "origins, experiences, and culture." Topics include biographies, themes, countries, traditions, and more. Includes bibliographies.
This small volume provides profiles of major political figures in African history and the diaspora. Sample entries include Aimé Césaire, Frederick Douglass, Marcus Garvey, Paul Leroy Robeson, and more. Each entry includes main publications of the individuals and lists of further readings.