What's included? Citations to and full text of over 8,500 journals and magazines, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers a wide range of academic subjects including the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and more.
What dates are covered? Coverage varies, but generally covers the mid 1990s - present. Updated daily.
What’s included? Citations to and the full text of hundreds of full-text history journals about the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes features such as the ability to search by time period.
What’s included? Primary sources covering the history of African American life and religious organizations developed in conjunction with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA). Includes reports and annuals from African American religious organizations and social service agencies as well as African American periodicals.
What’s included? More than 350 U.S. newspapers covering a century and a half of the African American experience. Includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states and features many rare 19th-century titles.
What's included? Consists of eleven modules. “African American Police League Records” documents how African American policemen in Chicago, beginning in 1968, attempted to fight against discrimination and police brutality by the Chicago Police Department and to improve relations between African Americans and police. The four modules of the “Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century” contain federal governmental records, organizational records, and personal papers related to the fight for civil rights. The six modules of the “NAACP Papers” contain internal memos, legal briefings, and detailed activity summaries from NAACP national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country.
What’s included? Primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. URI's collection includes page image and full-text access to the Atlanta Daily World; Baltimore Afro-American; Chicago Defender; Cleveland Call & Post; Kansas City Call; Los Angeles Sentinel; Louisville Defender; Michigan Chronicle; New York Amsterdam News; Norfolk Journal and Guide; Philadelphia Tribune; and the Pittsburgh Courier.
Founders of Black History Month, "the mission of the Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH) is to promote, research, preserve, interpret and disseminate information about Black life, history and culture to the global community."
"more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration (WPA)..."
"Contains just over a hundred pamphlets and books (published between 1772 and 1889) concerning the difficult and troubling experiences of African and African-American slaves in the American colonies and the United States."
Named after the first African American to receive a Ph.D. from Harvard University in 1895, this website provides links to current research projects, fellows program and other research databases. A project of Harvard University.
This multi-volume set contains a wealth of information on famous African Americans. Each article includes a list of further readings and information about locating published obituaries where available.
This five-volume encyclopedia contains detailed entries on a broad range of topics related to the African and African American experience: historical, political, cultural, and more. Many articles contain illustrations and bibliographies.
This three-volume encyclopedia outlines major topics related to African "origins, experiences, and culture." Topics include biographies, themes, countries, traditions, and more. Includes bibliographies.