What's included? Citations to and full text of over 8,500 journals and magazines, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers a wide range of academic subjects including the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and more.
What dates are covered? Coverage varies, but generally covers the mid 1990s - present. Updated daily.
What’s included? Citations to and the full text of hundreds of full-text history journals about the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes features such as the ability to search by time period.
What’s included? Online version of the Handbook of Latin American Studies. Bibliography containing books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers in the humanities and social sciences relating to Latin America. Entries are selected and annotated by scholars in the field. Updated annually.
What’s included? Primary source documents, including books, government documents, personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera from the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France as well as video content. Focuses on the migrations, communities, and ideologies of people of African descent.
What's included? Files from the National Archives, UK's CO 5 file class. Consists of the original correspondence and entry books of the Board of Trade, the Secretary of State for the Southern Department and the Secretary of State for the Colonies, together holding responsibility for the British possessions in mainland North America and the Caribbean. Made up of letters, charters and commissions, instructions to officials, military documents (including war diaries), newspapers, printed pamphlets, public notices, maps and many other material types, the documents shed light on all aspects of life in colonial America – political, economic, military, cultural and social.
What's included? Primary sources covering British governance of 25 islands in the Caribbean, drawn from the Colonial Office Files from the National Archives of the UK. Includes administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, and details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords.
What’s included? Primary sources devoted to the study and understanding of the history of slavery in America and the rest of the world from the 17th century to the late 19th century. Sourced from more than 60 libraries, includes more than five million cross-searchable pages from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps. Consists of four parts: Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, Part III: The Institution of Slavery, and Part IV: Age of Emancipation.
What’s included? More than 350 U.S. newspapers covering a century and a half of the African American experience. Includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states and features many rare 19th-century titles.
This accounting of 19th Century narratives of slaves in the West Indies addresses an important gap in plantation historiography and explores oral and written traditions, and examines the influence of Christianity on these traditions.
From the Latin American Network Information Center at the University of Texas, this page links to sources about Caribbean countries. The links are organized alphabetically by country and are selected by academic researchers.
"The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections." Includes images, newspapers, maps, and other primary source documents.