Need Help?
What are zines?
Zines are small batch, self-published booklets that can be constructed in a variety of ways. The term 'zine' comes from the word 'fanzine', which in turn stems from 'fan magazine'. Typically associated with cut-and-paste collaging and utilizing a photocopier, zines can also be screenprinted, risograph printed, or completely digital. Because of their DIY (do-it-yourself) nature, zines are a flexible and cheap publishing format and can be traded, given out, sold at small press fairs, or sometimes local bookshops.
- Working with and Using ZinesA digital zine created at the University of Illinois Library. Features background information and links to other resources and zine distributors.
Zine Resources
Below are links to websites that host digital zine collections. Majority of the zines featured have been scanned as PDFs, others may be entirely digital to begin with. Some collections are still accepting submissions and include materials from a range of publication dates. These collections are a great place to get started if you aren't sure where to find examples of zines in person, or if you are looking to explore what others have created.
- Barnard ZinesBarnard College's digital zine collection. Website also features a "Zine Basics" page, as well as a list of zine collections from around the world.
- Papercut Zine LibraryA zine library based in Cambridge, MA. The virtual collection covers a wide range of topics and features a searchable catalog of PDFs.
- Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP)A digital zine archive created to document a "living history" of queer community and culture.
- Sherwood Forest Zine LibraryA zine library based in Austin, TX. The virtual collection covers a wide range of topics and features zines that can be read online, or downloaded as PDFs.
- ZineWikiAn open-source zine encyclopedia that covers history, production, distribution and culture related to zines and small press.
Here you'll find some examples of zine construction given through photos, text, and video. These are just a starting point, feel free to get creative! There are many ways to assemble and produce zines.
- Experiment With Paper - How to Make a One Page ZineStep by step photos for making a zine using one sheet of 8.5 by 11 paper.
- The Creative Independent - How to Make a ZineIllustrated information on the background of zines, brainstorming, collaborating, licensing, printing, assembling, trading and distributing.
- Zine Presentation, by Violet VictoriaYouTube video depicting the creation of a zine.
Listed below are additional resources on zines and zine history that can be found through URI's library catalog.
- Why Diverse Zines Matter: A Case Study of the People of Color Zines Project"Through a case study of the POC Zines Project—a community-building project that promotes zines by POC—this paper will look at how creators of zines are experimenting with digital formats and social platforms, and will consider what mainstream publishers can learn from this."
Girl Zines: Making Media, Doing Feminism by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 0814768504Publication Date: 2009Explores zines in relation to third wave feminism and includes photo documentation.
Make Your Own History: Documenting Feminist and Queer Activism in the 21st Century by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 1936117959Publication Date: 2012Includes works from activists, archivists, librarians, and scholars in relation to feminism, youth culture, queer culture, and explores the shift to digital documentation.
Notes from Underground by Call Number: Carothers Library Stacks PN4878.3 D86 1997ISBN: 1859841589Publication Date: 1997Explores the history zines as well as their political importance and role in social change.
