Need Help?
Finding Publicly Available & Free Resources
Many of the resources collected on this guide require an affiliation with URI or use of a public computer within the URI Libraries. For material you can access without these restrictions, check out the recommendations on this page!
To browse for open access, freely available scholarly material on your topic, check out the Directory of Open Access Journals linked below!
- Directory of Open Access JournalsAn index of quality, peer-reviewed, open access scholarly research journals covering a range of disciplines.
Health
- Center for Reproductive Rights
This link opens in a new window
Fights for women's reproductive freedom all over the world. Case reports available. - Kaiser Family Foundation
- This link opens in a new window
Downloadable fact sheets on women's health issues like HPV, HIV, health insurance, etc. - Our Bodies, Ourselves
- This link opens in a new window
"OBOS provides clear, truthful information about health, sexuality and reproduction from a feminist and consumer perspective." Excerpts from the Our Bodies, Ourselves books available. - Planned Parenthood
- This link opens in a new window
"Delivers vital reproductive health care, sex education, and information to millions of women, men, and young people worldwide." - Office of Research on Women's Health from the National Institute of Health
- This link opens in a new window
Information on various women's related health topics. Website features toolkits and E-learning resources.
Human Rights
- Amnesty International: Sexual and Reproductive Rights
- This link opens in a new window
"Amnesty International is a global movement of more than 3 million supporters, members and activists in more than 150 countries and territories who campaign to end grave abuses of human rights." - Human Right's Watch: Women's Rights
- This link opens in a new window
"One of the world’s leading independent organizations dedicated to defending and protecting human rights." Search for publications about the exploitation of women and girls in various countries. - International Center for Research on Women
- This link opens in a new window
"Works with partners to conduct empirical research, ...and advocate for evidence-based, practical ways to change policies and programs." Searchable, downloadable database of PDF files. - MADRE
- This link opens in a new window
Organization devoted to "advance women's human rights by meeting urgent needs in communities and building lasting solutions to crisis." - PeaceWoman Project
- This link opens in a new window
"Facilitates monitoring of the UN system, information sharing and the enabling of meaningful dialogue for positive impact on women’s lives in conflict and post-conflict environments."
Sex Trafficking
- Coalition Against Trafficking in Women
- This link opens in a new window
"Creates real and lasting changes in countries around the world by launching and supporting anti-trafficking projects." Includes text of articles, speeches, legislation, international agreements, etc. - Coalition to Abolish Slavery and Trafficking
- This link opens in a new window
"Provides intensive case management, comprehensive services, and advocacy to survivors." Watch and listen to the stories of survivors. - Freedom Network USA
- This link opens in a new window
"A coalition of 25 non-governmental organizations that provide services to, and advocate for the rights of, trafficking survivors in the United States." Reports and articles available. - Global Alliance Against Traffic in Women
- This link opens in a new window
"Promotes rights of women migrant workers and trafficked persons." Download PDF files of full reports and working papers. - US Department of State: Office to Monitor and Combat Trafficking in Persons
- This link opens in a new window
Read the Trafficking in Persons Reports from 2001 through the present.
Feminist Theory
- Voice of the Shuttle: Gender and Sexuality Studies
- This link opens in a new window
"A dynamic database for humanists managed by the UC Santa Barbara English Dept." - Voice of the Shuttle: Women's Studies and Feminist Theory
- This link opens in a new window
"A dynamic database for humanists managed by the UC Santa Barbara English Dept."