Need Help?
Finding Background Information
Not sure how to start your research? Background and reference sources can help you...
- Gather initial information about a topic
- Get a rough overview so you can decide what areas to research further
Reference books and online tools are great for looking up a quick fact, definition, or date, and they can direct you to more sources.
If none of the suggestions on this page fit what you're looking for, try a search in the library catalog for your research topic and add "reference", "handbook", "guide", or "companion" to see what materials we have on your topic.
Don't underestimate the value of reference materials and sources like Wikipedia to help set you up for future research!
What Source Do I Need?
Understanding different reference sources can be overwhelming! Use the following suggestions to help guide you.
When you are just starting out...
Use a dictionary or encyclopedia to gain background knowledge, develop a research question, and learn how your topic fits into a broader context. Try a free tool like Wikipedia or use one of the recommended online databases listed in the box below!
When you are collecting sources...
Once you have some background information, consult a research guide, handbook, or bibliography to identify what has been written about your topic and which major sources you'll need to read next. These can help steer you to great sources!
Next steps...
Explore books or look for academic articles. However you choose to structure your research, circling back to the reference sources listed on this page can help you build a thorough list of sources!
Online Tools for Background Information
The databases listed in this box can help you fine background information. These provide access to short entries on a variety of subjects that will give you some helpful context as you brainstorm issues to explore further.
- Credo Reference Academic Core This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 200 videos.
- Oxford Reference Online Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Brings together selected reference works from Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource.
Recommended Books & Ebooks
Historical Dictionary of Feminism by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference HQ1115 .B65 2004ISBN: 0810849461Publication Date: 2004This dictionary "covers a broad range of subjects that detail the shifting definitions of this socio-economic, political, and intellectual movement and describe its antecedents and pioneers from as far back as Biblical times. The entries provide background on persons, organizations, campaigns, court cases, objectives, and achievements."
Routledge Critical Dictionary of Feminism and Postfeminism by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference HQ1115 R68 2000ISBN: 0415925185Publication Date: 2000Background chapters include "major voices in the field of feminist studies" as well as "thorough coverage of the history of feminism" and "discussions of topics such as Postfeminism, Men in Feminism, Feminism and New Technologies, Feminism and Philosophy, and much more".
The Women's Movement Today: An Encyclopedia of Third Wave Feminism by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference HQ1115 .W644 2006ISBN: 9780313331336Publication Date: 2005"The Women's Movement Today: An Encyclopedia of Third Wave Feminism introduces the third wave's key issues, members, visions, writings, and more--with essay entries on abortion to zines, with the Riotgrrrl group Bikini Kill, cyberspace, National Girls and Women in Sports Day, queer theory, and activist/writer Rebecca Walker in between."
Women's Studies Encyclopedia by Call Number: Carothers Library Stacks HQ1115 .W645 1999ISBN: 0313296200Publication Date: 1999Tierney's work is considered to be a standard reference item in the field of women's studies. "With close to 400 contributors, it expands coverage of such areas as violence against women, women in public life, and women in specific countries and regions. Many of the articles are new or completely rewritten, while others have been updated or expanded."
Gender and Women′s Leadership by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference HQ1233 .G452 2010ISBN: 9781412960830Publication Date: 2010This handbook provides "an authoritative reference on leadership issues and questions specific to women and gender". Section topics include feminist theories of leadership "in areas including the public arena, social movements, globally, business, women's health, the media, academia, the arts, and public policy".
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference HQ1115 E54 2009ISBN: 1452266026Publication Date: 2008"Covers the major theories, research, people, and issues in contemporary gender studies. This comprehensive, two-volume encyclopedia is distinguished by a cross-national/cross-cultural perspective that provides comparative analyses of the life experiences of men and women around the world."
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 0122272455Publication Date: 2001"The Encyclopedia of Gender covers gender differences, the "Psychology of Women" and the "Psychology of Men", discussing psychological differences in personality, cognition, and behavior, as well as biologically based differences and how those differences impact behavior."
The Multimedia Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 1452270376Publication Date: 2013This e-volume offers "a wide range of new entries and new multimedia content" including "such developments as the Arab Spring that brought women's issues in the Islamic world into sharp relief, the domination of female athletes among medal winners at the London 2012 Olympics, nine more women joining the ranks of democratically elected heads of state, and much more".
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference HQ1170 E53 2003ISBN: 9004132473Publication Date: 2007Four volumes: The first contains disciplinary and historical thematic entries. The remaining three volumes explore broad issues, such as economics and education; family, law and politics; sexuality and health; these entries are further subdivided and then explored by individual country or region. all signed with extensive bibliographic references.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide by Call Number: See listed below.ISBN: 0313327874Publication Date: 2003Six volumes, each divided by major world regions. Entries by individual contributors are organized by country and include extensive resources at the end of each entry.
The Middle East and North Africa (REF HQ1726.5 G74 2003)
Sub-Saharan Africa (REF HQ1788 G74 2003)
Central and South America (REF HQ1467 G74 2003)
North America and the Caribbean (REF HQ1400 G74 2003)
Europe (REF HQ1588 G74 2003)
Asia and Oceania (REF HQ1726 G74 2003)
The Penguin Atlas of Women in the World by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference G1046 E1 S4 2009ISBN: 9780143114512Publication Date: 2008This fourth edition of Seager's book "employs up-to-the-minute research and data" to explore "how women live across continents and cultures".
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference HQ1115 R69 2000ISBN: 0415920884Publication Date: 2000"Some 600 international scholars have contributed to this four-volume set addressing the concerns of women and the theory and practice of global feminism." Articles are listed alphabetically in each volume with a full index located in volume four.
Encyclopedia of Women and American Politics by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 1438141874Publication Date: 2014"Encyclopedia of Women and American Politics, Second Edition contains all the material a reader needs to understand the role of women throughout America's political history."
Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference HQ1236 R29 2001ISBN: 1576071014Publication Date: 2001Two-volume collection contains cross references and a selected bibliography.
From Suffrage to the Senate: America's Political Women by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9781642650976Publication Date: 2020"From Suffrage to the Senate: America's Political Women is a comprehensive and valuable compendium of biographies of leading women in U.S. politics, past and present, and an examination of the wide range of women's movements."
Political and Historical Encyclopedia of Women by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 1135456909Publication Date: 2004This encyclopedia contains "40 authoritative in-depth articles, written by an international team of scholars" and examines "women's activism in areas such as voting, emancipation, equality, and democracy".
Women and Politics Around the World by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference HQ1236 W5876 2009ISBN: 9781851099887Publication Date: 2009Two volumes, organized by issues and country profiles.
A History of Women in the United States by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference HQ1410 H58 2004ISBN: 9780717258055Publication Date: 2003Four-volume set includes introductory essays, chronology of U.S. women’s history, bibliographical references, list of primary documents and individually authored state by state entries.
Encyclopedia of Women in the Renaissance by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference HQ1148 W67 2007ISBN: 1851097724Publication Date: 2007Signed articles, cross referenced with bibliography of primary and secondary sources.
Encyclopedia of Women in American History by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9781315704692Publication Date: 2015"This illustrated encyclopedia examines the unique influence and contributions of women in every era of American history, from the colonial period to the present." Includes primary sources and original documents.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference HQ1121 O93 2008ISBN: 9780195148909Publication Date: 2008Four volumes containing signed articles with bibliographical references.
Encyclopedia of Women in the Middle Ages by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9781476601113Publication Date: 2007Contains information on "culture, history and circumstances of women in the Middle Ages, from the years 500 to 1500 CE". Topics include "work, marriage and family, households, employment, and religion."
Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference HQ1115 W6 1999ISBN: 0787640808Publication Date: 1999Seventeen volumes; includes extensive articles and suggested additional readings.
