Need Help?
General Country Information
- D&B Country Reports and D&B Country RiskLine Reports (Mergent Archives) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Two distinct areas: D&B Country Reports provide detailed political, economic, and commercial information on over 130 countries worldwide. Select "Country Reports" when searching. D&B Country RiskLine Reports are updated more frequently, often monthly, as situations change. Includes information on the improving, stable, or deteriorating business risk environment in a country.
- Europa World: The Europa World Year Book Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Presents political and economic information on countries and territories as well as international organizations. Features statistical data and directories.
- CountryWatch.comContains comprehensive, up-to-date information on all the countries of the world. Topics include maps; people; religion; history; politics; foreign relations; economic activity; investment overview, taxation, and stock market information; environmental issues, and news stories.
- Library of Congress Country StudiesProvides descriptions and analysis of the historical settings and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. Also describes cultural aspects of the country including dominant beliefs, values, and attitudes.
- World FactbookAlso known as the CIA World Factbook, this resource provides short profiles of countries of the world. Covers geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues. Also available in print on Govt. Pub Reference PREX 3.15:
- U.S. Department of State Background NotesCountry profiles including geography, people, government, history, economy, political conditions, foreign relations, defense, and travel information.
- The Statesman's Year-BookCall Number: Carothers Serial JA51 .S7Handbook covering the politics, cultures, and economies of the world. Short profiles of each of the world’s countries. (1873-2011, incomplete)
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations by Call Number: Carothers Ref. G63 .W67 2012Publication Date: 20125 volumes. Contains extensive profiles of world countries. Covers basic information, geography and climate, population, religion, history, government, economy and more. Includes country maps.
- Doing Business (World Bank)This site, from the World Bank, provides reports that assess regulations affecting domestic firms in 185 economies and ranks the economies in 10 areas of business regulation, such as starting a business, resolving insolvency and trading across borders. Regional and sub-national reports are also available.
Country Information: Business Environment and Trade
- BuyUSA.govThe site of the U.S. Commercial Service of the U.S. Department of Commerce. Offers information for U.S. exporters as well as for those who import goods from the United States. Features “Doing Business in...” which provides information on business customs, business hours hours, visa requirements, appropriate clothing, transportation, currency information, climate, country facts, public holidays, and more for selected countries. Provides links to country chambers of commerce and trade associations.
- Doing Business: Measuring Business Regulations
This link opens in a new window
The World Bank's Doing Business Project provides information about business regulations and their enforcement in many countries and cities of the world. Search by country or topic, e.g. "Starting a Business" or "Paying Taxes." Information provided focuses on objective measures such as the number of procedures involved and the time and cost to complete them. - Export Yellow PagesA public-private partnership of the U.S. Department of Commerce and Global Publishers LLC, the Export Yellow Pages list U.S. exporters of goods and services. Search the U.S. Trade Assistance Directory to find export service providers such as sales agents, shippers, translators, and bankers.
- Export.govThe “U.S. Government Export Portal.” Provides information for U.S. exporters from a wide variety of government agencies. Included are export basics; export statistics; partners and trade leads; pricing, quotes and negotiation; shipping and logistics; finance; trade shows and events; and information on services provided by ITA such as counseling and advocacy and help with trade problems.
- Market IntelligenceThis U.S. Commercial Service site allows you to search by industry, region, and/or country for Market Research ("Intelligence") at the State, National, Global, or International levels. Features Country Commercial Guides, Industry Sector Analyses, International Market Insights, Multilateral Development Bank Reports, a Trade Directory, and a list of Events.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Covers over 10,000 U.S. publicly-traded companies and selected international companies. Unique information provided includes property owned or leased, long-term debt (loans and bonds), and details on all capital stock, with annual high/lows and outstanding shares. Also offers earning estimates, institutional holdings, insider trades, stockholder equity, up to 15 years of annual and quarterly financial statements, and downloadable annual reports.
- What else should I know? Archival information is provided for over 4,000 companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, or merged out of existence from 1995 onward. Key financial information from Dun & Bradstreet is also provided on over 400,000 global private companies. Users may perform custom searches and build reports, convert currency, and download financial information to a spreadsheet.
- U.S. Department of Labor - Bureau of International Labor Affairs
- This link opens in a new window
Bureau of International Labor Affairs (ILAB) is part of the Department of Labor. The mission of ILAB is to ensure fair treatment of workers worldwide ensuring fair practices and working conditions. Publications on the economic impact of topics such as child labor, trade policy agreements and more are available and searchable by country. - U.S. Department of Labor's Foreign Labor Trends SeriesThe reports "provide summaries of institutions, practices, and recent labor developments in key foreign countries. They profile labor market reforms, compliance with internationally recognized core labor standards, social safety nets; major labor laws and systems (including in special economic zones), and list a directory of the host country's labor contacts." Some are available electronically. Others can be found in Government Publications.
- USA Trade Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Access to U.S. export and import information on more than 18,000 commodities world wide.
- What dates are covered? 1992 - Present.
- What else should I know? 2 concurrent users only. Password required — please ask at the Research Help Desk for access.
- PricewaterhouseCoopers Worldwide Tax Summaries
- This link opens in a new window
Contains essential information about the tax systems in over 150 countries.
International Marketing and Demographics
- European Marketing Data and StatisticsCall Number: Carothers Serial HA1107 .E87Statistical yearbook covering demographic trends and forecasts; economic indicators; banking and finance; external trade; labor force; industrial output; energy; defense; environment; consumer expenditures; retail distribution; advertising and media; consumer market sizes; consumer prices; housing; health; literacy and education; agriculture; communications; transportation; travel and tourism; cultural indicators; and income and earnings. Provides a number of years of data for all countries in Europe.
- International Marketing Data and StatisticsCall Number: Carothers Serial HA42 .I56Statistical yearbook covering demographic trends and forecasts; economic indicators; banking and finance; external trade; labor force; industrial output; energy; defense; environment; consumer expenditures; retail distribution; advertising and media; consumer market sizes; consumer prices; housing; health; literacy and education; agriculture; communications; transportation; travel and tourism; cultural indicators; and income and earnings. Provides a number of years of data.
Country Information: Business Culture
The books below can be found in the Reference Collection on the first floor of the Library.
Global Business Etiquette: a Guide to International Communication and Customs by Call Number: Carothers Ref. HF5389 .M375ISBN: 0275988155Publication Date: 2006
Kiss, bow, or shake hands : the bestselling Guide to Doing Business in More than 60 Countries by Call Number: URI Ref HF5389 .M67 2006ISBN: 1593373686Publication Date: 2006
Passport to Success: the Essential Guide to Business Culture and Customs in America's Largest Trading Partners by Call Number: Carothers Ref. HF5389 .M3753 2009ISBN: 9780275997168Publication Date: 2009
When Cultures Collide: Managing Successfully Across Cultures by Call Number: Carothers Ref. HD62.4 .L49 2000ISBN: 1857880870Publication Date: 2000
