Need Help?
Welcome
Welcome! This guide is designed to help you locate information about international business. Use the yellow page tabs above to explore various reference, book, journal, newspaper, and internet sources.
To locate books on international business, conduct a search in the catalog for the following SUBJECTS:
- International Trade
- International Business Enterprises
- International Economic Relations
- Foreign Trade Regulations
- Trading Companies
- Commercial Treaties
- Commercial Policy
- Export Marketing
- Economic Development
These subject headings can also be combined with keywords related to your topic.
If you need further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact a librarian.
Articles & Databases
Search the databases list below to find journal and newspaper articles related to international business. Search by keyword, or use subject headings such as:
- International Business Enterprises
- International Trade
- International Economic Relations
Please note: These databases require that you log in using your URI credentials. For further information see:
- EZproxy InformationThis page provides details on logging in to URI-subscribed databases, journals, and more.
- EconLit (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? EconLit, produced by the American Economic Association, is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature, covering all fields of economics. Indexes journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and book reviews. The database contains more than 1.2 million records.
- What dates are covered? 1886 - present
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? News, law, and business information service. Includes news from national and international newspapers; wire services and articles from hundreds of periodicals; and a number of other reference sources. All sources are full-text. Updated daily.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos, and more.
Other Database Tools
These resouces provide regulatory information, company profiles, business directories, and other helpful reference tools.
- D&B Hoovers (Mergent) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Offers detailed company and industry profiles on over 188 million businesses, both public and private, around the world. Company profiles include description of business, company history, key financials and stock information, links to SEC filings, and list of competitors. Industry profiles offer industry description, competitive landscape, products and technology, finance and regulation, industry indicators and trends, and list of companies in the industry. Reports and data can be downloaded.
- What else should I know? Hoover's does not always work well in Firefox; if you are asked to log in, switch to a different browser.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Covers over 10,000 U.S. publicly-traded companies and selected international companies. Unique information provided includes property owned or leased, long-term debt (loans and bonds), and details on all capital stock, with annual high/lows and outstanding shares. Also offers earning estimates, institutional holdings, insider trades, stockholder equity, up to 15 years of annual and quarterly financial statements, and downloadable annual reports.
- What else should I know? Archival information is provided for over 4,000 companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, or merged out of existence from 1995 onward. Key financial information from Dun & Bradstreet is also provided on over 400,000 global private companies. Users may perform custom searches and build reports, convert currency, and download financial information to a spreadsheet.
- Mergent Corporate Manuals (Mergent Archives) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Access to Mergent and Moody's Corporate Manuals.
- What dates are covered? 1909 - Present.
- Mergent InvestorEdge This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Equity research reports from Ford Equity Research provide expert analysis and buy, sell, and hold recommendations for over 5,000 U.S. and international companies. Product includes links to bond reports from Mergent, company annual reports, EDGAR filings, and industry reports. Industry reports provide information on current environment, an industry profile, market trends and outlook, and comparative company data. Updated weekly.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? News, law, and business information service. Includes news from national and international newspapers; wire services and articles from hundreds of periodicals; and a number of other reference sources. All sources are full-text. Updated daily.
Created & Revised by
Guide created by Andrée Rathemacher • 5/2000, rev. 7/01, 2/02, 5/04; revised by Hailie Posey 4/11.
Updated by Mark Matook 3/2018
Updated by Chris Cassaday, 11/2022