Skip to main content
Reference Resources on Catastrophic Geological Events & Natural Disasters
Earthquakes in the Mediterranean and Middle East
Call Number: URI REF QE536.2 M43 A43 2009
Publication Date: 2009-10-22
This book calls itself a multidisciplinary study of seismicity up to 1900. This book uses historical evidence for earthquakes that have happened in the eastern Mediterranean and the Middle East over the last 2000 years. Each section examines when and where earthquakes have hit in this region in the past and attempts to determine if it is possible to predict the future location and magnitudes of earthquakes from literary and archaeological sources. Each section is organized by date with the occasional notes, photographs and graphs. There is also an index and a references section at the back of the book.
Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes
Call Number: URI REF QE521 R58 1994
Publication Date: 1994-02-01
This encyclopedia focuses on key concepts associated with seismology and volcanology and covers the places in the world where some major quakes and eruptions have occurred. Entries are listed alphabetically and also focus on concepts relating to magma, the pacific crust plate, harmonic tremors, the Hayward Fault, and much much more. This book also includes an index, references sources, photos, a bibliography and an appendix.
Encyclopedia of Volcanoes
Call Number: URI REF QE522 E53 2000
Publication Date: 1999-10-15
This book contains everything you ever wanted to know about volcanoes. This encyclopedia is divided up into 9 different parts with sections referring to the origins and transport of magma, explosive volcanism, eruption, volcanic interactions, extraterrestrial volcanism and there is even a section on the economic benefits and cultural aspects of volcanism. This text contains charts, graphs, pictures, illustrations, an appendix, an index and reference sources for further reading at the end of each entry.
Call Number: URI REF QE501.3 K795 2003
Publication Date: 2003-04-30
From Tsunamis to floods, droughts, earthquakes, glaciation, sinkholes and more, this source book examines the natural geological processes that can be hazardous to human life on earth. This book looks at the scientific principles behind these catastrophic disasters and explains how they happen and why. Each chapter is separated by different geological hazards with reference sources located at the end of each entry. This book also contains illustrations, charts and an index.
Call Number: URI Reference GB5014 D38 2002
Publication Date: 2001
This book covers information on avalanches, landslides, earthquakes, famines, droughts, floods, plagues, epidemics, cyclones, hurricanes, icestorms, snowstorms, tornadoes, typhoons, storms, volcanic eruptions, and natural explosions. Includes bibliography and index.
Notable Natural Disasters
Call Number: URI Reference GB5014 N373 2007 v. 1-3
Publication Date: 2007
This three volume series includes overviews of various natural disasters indexed by category and geography, information on natural disaster events dating from 65,000,000 B.C.E. to 2006 A.D. indexed by category and geography. Appendices include a glossary, time line, bibliography, and organizations and agencies.
The Citizens' Guide to Geologic Hazards
Call Number: URI REF GB5014 C58 1993
Publication Date: 1993-01-01
Learn about geological hazards that may effect you. Take a tour of hazards presented by earthquakes, floods, landslides, volcanoes and more. Learn about geologists and the roles they play in helping to prevent or inform the public about potential geological hazards in our world. This book also contains helpful illustrations, appendices, bibliographies, and reference sources.
Volcanoes of the World
Call Number: URI REF QE522 V92
Publication Date: 1982-11-01
This source focuses on volcanoes from all over the world, a chronology of eruptions, names, volcano types, data table summaries, eruptions data and more. This book also contains a historic record, references, a bibliography, directory of volcanoes, a conclusions section and an "about the authors" section.
, Civil & Environmental Engineering
, Electrical, Computer & Biomedical Engineering
, Engineering & Technology
, Industrial & Manufacturing Engineering
, Mechanical Engineering
, Ocean Engineering
, Physical & Mathematical Sciences
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.