Peter Larsen
Reference Sources At The Pell Library
The Pell Library is located on the University’s Narragansett Bay Campus. The collection at this library supports various courses in marine studies and it is also home to the Graduate School of Oceanography. The library collects materials geared to the instructional and research programs of the campus such as oceanography, marine biology, fisheries, atmospheric chemistry, and coastal and estuarine habitats. Since geological oceanography is considered to be another branch of the geosciences, it is important for students interested in this field to know of some of the sources available to them at the Pell Library.
Oceanography Reference Sources
Introductory Oceanography by Call Number: PELL REF GC16 T452 2004ISBN: 0131438883Publication Date: 2003-12-12This introductory book contains information on most aspects relating to the study of our oceans. There is geological information in here for students just starting out in the field. This book also contains the most recent discoveries in oceanography in over 30 new feature boxes, photos, illustrations, an appendix and index.
Oceanography by Call Number: PELL REF GC16 G7 1996ISBN: 0132317885Publication Date: 1995-11-17This book contain information on the ocean floor, its "complex systems," the "ocean on a changing earth," plate tectonics, sediments, waves, tides, and more.
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences by Call Number: PELL REF GC9 E58 2001ISBN: 012227430XPublication Date: 2001-09-06This encyclopedia contains 402 original articles covering all the physical, chemical and biological aspects of ocean science.
Encyclopedia of Coastal Science by Call Number: PELL REF TC203.5 E6 2005ISBN: 1402019033Publication Date: 2005-06-16This encyclopedia focuses on coastal studies world-wide. It focuses on specific coastal areas like the arctic coast, atols, gravel barriers, islands, artificial islands, erosion, sediments and literally thousands of more entries from 245 contributors from all over the world. This encyclopedia also contains illustrations, tables, graphs, reference sources, an index, appendices, an illustrated glossary of coastal morphology and extensive bibliographic listings.
