Need Help?
Finding Articles
Consult articles once you've created a research question or thesis and want to look at your topic in detail. If you are just starting out and don't have a good sense of your topic yet, check out "Finding Background Information" first.
The databases on this page provide access to scholarly, popular, and news articles. Some databases will lead you directly to the full text of an article while others will help you find abstracts (summaries) for articles that you'll need to track down elsewhere.
If you have any trouble finding what you need, just ask a librarian! For a refresher, check out our guide.
To browse a specific journal, search for it by name in URI's Journal Search or browse for journals by subject on BrowZine!
-
E-Journal List - URI Journal SearchEnter the title of the journal or newspaper you're looking for to find access quickly!
-
BrowZineAn app that lets you browse journals by discipline or search by title. You can save journals or articles to a personalized bookshelf for later use!
Suggested Geoscience Databases
-
GeoRef (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Provides access to the geoscience, geochemistry, and geophysics literature of the world, with citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, maps, government reports, conference papers, and theses and dissertations.
- What dates are covered? Covers North America from 1669 to the present and the rest of the world from 1933 to the present.
-
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? A collection of journals from the publisher Elsevier and its affiliates. Journals may be browsed or searched by keyword. Access to the full content of articles from selected journals is available to URI users. Availability is indicated by a green icon. Other articles may be requested via Interlibrary Loan.
- What dates are covered? 1995 - Present.
- What’s included? A collection of journals from the publisher Elsevier and its affiliates. Journals may be browsed or searched by keyword. Access to the full content of articles from selected journals is available to URI users. Availability is indicated by a green icon. Other articles may be requested via Interlibrary Loan.
-
SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to, abstracts, and full text of scholarly research and technical literature in disciplines related to natural sciences and technology. Content covered includes scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
- What dates are covered? 1946 - Present.
- What else should I know? Comprises the sub-databases: Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database; Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Index; AGRICOLA; Agricultural Science Database; Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts; Biological Science Database; Biological Science Index; Computer Science Database; Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database; Engineering Database, Engineering Index; Environmental Science Database; Environmental Science Index; Materials Science Database; Materials Science Index; Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts; Oceanic Abstracts; Science Database.
- What’s included? Citations to, abstracts, and full text of scholarly research and technical literature in disciplines related to natural sciences and technology. Content covered includes scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
-
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
-
Web of Science Core Collection (Clarivate) This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Access to Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1900-present), and Book Citation Index (2005-present). Contains citations to articles from over 10,000 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
- What else should I know? Searching by cited reference allows the user to uncover the research that influenced an author’s work or to navigate forward in time to discover a paper’s impact on current research.
