Skip to main content
The Geosciences also consists of the study of rocks, minerals, gemstones, precious stones, and any other mineralogical substance that comes from the earth. The reference sources listed below offer up a wealth of information relating to this particular field of the Geosciences.
Guide to Minerals, Rocks and Fossils
Call Number: URI REF QE363.8 B56 2005
Publication Date: 2005-02-05
This guide has been completely revised and updated and includes over 600 specimens with full color photos, graphs, charts, illustrations and an index.
The Encyclopedia of Gemstones and Minerals
Call Number: URI REF QE392 H65 1991
Publication Date: 1991-01-01
This is a great resource for the beginning geologist. Each entry includes colors photos, composition information, classification type, mineral usage information and more. There is also a helpful chart of the periodic table of the elements in the book for convenient reference purposes.
Dictionary of Geology and Mineralogy
Call Number: URI REF QE5 M3654 2003
Publication Date: 2003-01-27
This dictionary covers every discipline of geology and mineralogy covering more than 9,000 essential terms relating to the subject. The information is the book is listed alphabetically with each entry having a definition, synonyms, acronyms, & abbreviations. This book also contains an appendix with tables full of helpful geological information.
Gems and Minerals of America
Call Number: URI REF QE392.5 U5 R36 1975
Publication Date: 1975-01-01
A guide to collecting rocks from all over the United States. This book is divided into two parts with part 1 focusing on the fundamentals of rock collecting, what tools to use, care and preservation of minerals, cutting and polishing gemstones and much more. Part 2 focuses on where to find gems and minerals in the United States.Each chapter is subdivided by location. This source also contains tables, photographs, an index and appendicies.
Handbook of Physical Properties of Rocks
Call Number: URI REF QE431.6 P5 H36 1982
Publication Date: 1982-02-01
This three volume set provides information on the mineral composition of a number of rocks. Sections include tables with physical property information for the Earth's crust, sedimentary rocks, ores and economic minerals, mantle and core properties, petrographic characteristics, mineralogy and rock kindreds and more. Each volume contains an index and reference sources for further reading.
Catalogue of Meteorites
Call Number: URI REF QE395 G68 1985
Publication Date: 1985-04-01
Space rocks! This book is a catalog of documented meteorites that have fallen to earth since January of 1984. There are sections containing a summary of geographical listings where meteorites have fallen, a classified list of meteorites categorized by their properties, and a full catalog of meteorites, their names, date found, location, and much more. There is also a separate list for craters. This is a great reference source for those who wish to study this particular field of geoscience.
, Civil & Environmental Engineering
, Electrical, Computer & Biomedical Engineering
, Engineering & Technology
, Industrial & Manufacturing Engineering
, Mechanical Engineering
, Ocean Engineering
, Physical & Mathematical Sciences
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.