Introduction
This is a guide to selected information on Consumer Behavior available in the URI Libraries. To find additional information, conduct a subject search in the catalog using subject headings such as CONSUMER BEHAVIOR, CONSUMERS, CONSUMER PREFERENCES, MOTIVATION RESEARCH (MARKETING), PUBLIC OPINION, and SOCIAL MARKETING.
-
URI Libraries SearchLocate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
Demographics & Consumer Behavior
Below are a list of secondary sources that provide statistics on a variety of consumers.
Many of the statistics in these sources originally come from the following surveys from the Bureau of Labor Statistics:
-
Consumer Expenditure SurveySummary statistics from the Consumer Expenditure Survey, which is conducted by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Reports broad categories of consumer expenditures by age, income, and Metropolitan Statistical Area. Data available from the mid-1980s to the present.
-
American Time Use Survey"The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing." - from American Time Use SUrvey home page
-
American Buyers by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781940308463Publication Date: 2014Demographic survey information from 2012. Includes information on buyers of: apparel, entertainment, financial products and services, food and alcoholic beverages, gifts for people in other households, health care, household services, supplies, and furnishings, housing shelter and utilities, personal care, reading material, education, and tobacco, and transportation. -
American Generations: Who They Are and How They Live by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781940308098Publication Date: 2013Differences in attitudes and behavior, education, diversity, public policy, income, spending, etc. are profiled, explaining both past and future trends of each generation. A great resource to gain insight into the consumer marketplace.
-
American Marketplace: Demographics and Spending Patterns by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 1940308771Publication Date: 2014-"Provides the demographics and spending patterns of American consumers. Includes data on education, health, housing, income, labor force participation, living arrangements, population, spending, and wealth." (From the publisher.)
-
Baby Boom: Americans born from 1946 to 1964 by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781940308890Publication Date: 2015Includes demographics, earnings, spending patterns, and more of members of the Baby Boom generation.
-
Best Customers: Demographics of Consumer Demand, 9th Edition by Call Number: Carothers Library Ref. HC79 C6 R87 2012ISBN: 9781937737108Publication Date: 2012Who uses what goods and services? Provides data on household spending in the United States on numerous products and services by age, income, household type, race and Hispanic origin, region of residence, and educational attainment of householder.
-
Consumer Behavior 2015-2016 by Call Number: Carothers Ref. HF5415.33 U6 M55 2015Publication Date: 2015This book approaches consumer behavior by first breaking down and analyzing public demographics, lifestyle, and interests.
-
Consumer Culture : A Reference Handbook by
Call Number: Carothers Stacks HC79 C6 G665 2004ISBN: 1576079759Overview of the study of consumer culture as well as its history and global implications. Detailed resources are listed for further research. -
Generation X: Americans born 1965 to 1976 by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781940308869Publication Date: 2015Find demographic and statistical information about Generation X, including income and spending, time use, and more.
-
Handbook of Consumer Psychology by Call Number: Carothers Library Ref. HF5415.32 H363 2008ISBN: 9780805856033Publication Date: 2008Chapters are written by researchers in the field of Consumer Psychology, with the goal of better scientific understanding the behavioral responses to products and services, the marketing of these products and services, and societal and ethical concerns associated with marketing processes. -
Handbook of Culture and Consumer Behavior by Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2015This serves as a collection of perspectives on the evolution of studies in consumer behavior and cultural analysis.
-
Handbook of Marketing Scales by Call Number: Carothers Stacks HF5415.3 B323 2011ISBN: 9781412980180Publication Date: 2010Compilation of multi-item, self-report measures frequently used in consumer behavior and marketing research. Over 150 scales are included. -
Household Spending by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 1937737128Publication Date: 2015Based on data collected by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Provides a detailed and comprehensive analysis of how American households allocate their spending dollars from food and alcohol to home improvements and dry cleaning.
-
Millennials: Americans born 1977 to 1994 by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781940308838Publication Date: 2015Find demographic and economic information about Millennials.
-
Older Americans: A Changing Market by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781937737207Publication Date: 2012"...includes the latest statistics on the health, living arrangements, incomes, spending, and wealth of the 55-or-older age group." (From the publisher.)
About this guide...
This guide was originally created by Ida D. McGhee 5/2006. Updated and reformatted by Madge Boldt, 3/2010. Revised by Angela Pugliese, 10/2013. Updated by Amanda Izenstark, 3/2016. Updated by Mark Matook, 2/2018