Need Help?
Online Sources
- Facts & Comparisons eAnswers (Wolters Kluwer) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Resources include A To Z drug facts, Black box warnings, Don't crush/chew, Drug facts & comparisons, Drug identifier, Drug interaction facts, Herbal interaction facts, Investigational drugs, Look alike/sound alike, Manufacturer index, MedFacts patient information, Nonprescription drug therapy, Normal laboratory values, Off-label drug facts, Orphan drugs, Patient assistance programs, Pregnancy and lactation warnings, Review of natural products, Therapeutic categories, and more.
- What else should I know? This database is provided to the URI community by the College of Pharmacy.
- What’s included? Resources include A To Z drug facts, Black box warnings, Don't crush/chew, Drug facts & comparisons, Drug identifier, Drug interaction facts, Herbal interaction facts, Investigational drugs, Look alike/sound alike, Manufacturer index, MedFacts patient information, Nonprescription drug therapy, Normal laboratory values, Off-label drug facts, Orphan drugs, Patient assistance programs, Pregnancy and lactation warnings, Review of natural products, Therapeutic categories, and more.
- UpToDate Lexidrug (Wolters Kluwer) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Database of drug handbooks which also includes information from the American Hospital Formulary Service. Updated Daily.
- What else should I know? This database is provided to the URI community by the College of Pharmacy.
- What’s included? Database of drug handbooks which also includes information from the American Hospital Formulary Service. Updated Daily.
- King Guide to Parenteral Admixtures This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Source of IV drug compatibility and stability information. Covers over 500 IV drugs with at-a-glance view of compatibility in 12 fluids. Includes routes, dosages, temperatures, and containers used to determine compatibility and stability. Updated quarterly.
- What else should I know? This database is provided to the URI community by the College of Pharmacy.
- What’s included? Source of IV drug compatibility and stability information. Covers over 500 IV drugs with at-a-glance view of compatibility in 12 fluids. Includes routes, dosages, temperatures, and containers used to determine compatibility and stability. Updated quarterly.
- Merck Manuals"The Merck Manuals are a comprehensive medical information source covering thousands of topics in all fields of medicine. They are offered as a free public service to health care professionals and the general public."
- USP-NF Online This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Official national standards for drug substances & dosage forms (USP) & pharmaceutical ingredients (NF). Monographs provide information on molecular & structural formulas, molecular weight, chemical name, Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) Registry Number, description, packaging & storage, identification tests, & chemical & physical properties. Combined index to both USP/NF.
- What else should I know? This database is provided to the URI community by the College of Pharmacy.
Official US Compendia
- Orange book: approved drug products with therapeutic equivalence evaluationsLists drug products approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration on the basis of safety and effectiveness. Standard source for therapeutic equivalency of drug products.
- USP-NF Online This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Official national standards for drug substances & dosage forms (USP) & pharmaceutical ingredients (NF). Monographs provide information on molecular & structural formulas, molecular weight, chemical name, Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) Registry Number, description, packaging & storage, identification tests, & chemical & physical properties. Combined index to both USP/NF.
- What else should I know? This database is provided to the URI community by the College of Pharmacy.
Nonofficial Compendia
Martindale: The Complete Drug ReferenceCall Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating RS51 U65Comprehensive British publication providing well-referenced information on pharmacology, toxicology and therapy of foreign and U.S. drugs (prescription, nonprescription, obsolete and investigational drugs and natural substances). Includes non-approved indications and chemical and physical data. International directory of drug manufacturers, general index, to clinical uses.- Remington: the science and practice of pharmacy, 19th ed. by Call Number: Carothers Library Serial Stacks - Non Circulating RS91 R36Comprehensive general reference work on the therapy and practice of pharmaceutical sciences. Section on pharmaceutical and medicinal agents details preparation, description, solubility, uses, dose, dosage forms, chemical name and structural formula for each compound. Illustrated, indexed.
