Need Help?
New Drugs
- ClinicalTrials.gov
This link opens in a new window
Provides patients and members of the public easy access to information about the location of clinical trials, their design and purpose, criteria for participation and additional disease and treatment information.
- Facts & Comparisons eAnswers (Wolters Kluwer) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Resources include A To Z drug facts, Black box warnings, Don't crush/chew, Drug facts & comparisons, Drug identifier, Drug interaction facts, Herbal interaction facts, Investigational drugs, Look alike/sound alike, Manufacturer index, MedFacts patient information, Nonprescription drug therapy, Normal laboratory values, Off-label drug facts, Orphan drugs, Patient assistance programs, Pregnancy and lactation warnings, Review of natural products, Therapeutic categories, and more.
- What else should I know? This database is provided to the URI community by the College of Pharmacy.
- Merck Manuals
- This link opens in a new window
"The Merck Manuals are a comprehensive medical information source covering thousands of topics in all fields of medicine. They are offered as a free public service to health care professionals and the general public."
The Merck Index by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating RS51 .M4 2013ISBN: 9781849736701Publication Date: 2013Provides entries on 10,000 drugs, pharmaceuticals, common organic compounds and laboratory reagents, naturally occurring substances and plants, elements, inorganic compounds, compounds of agricultural significance, endogenous substances and biological compounds. Gives a brief bibliography, structure, nomenclature, composition, and molecular weight. Provides CAS registry numbers. Previous edition in Reference, earlier editions in Circulating Stacks.
Nomenclature
- American Drug IndexCall Number: Reference RS355 A48 (Latest on Ref)ISSN: 0065-8111
Alphabetical listing of drugs available in the U.S. arranged by generic name with extensive cross-referencing by brand and chemical names. Details manufacturer, use, dosage, composition, package size, pharmaceutical forms available. Various appendices include abbreviations used on medical orders, glossary, weights and measures, conversion factors, pharmaceutical company label code index numbers, etc. - USP Dictionary of USAN and International Drug NamesCall Number: Carothers Library Serial Stacks - Non Circulating RS55 .U54ISSN: 1076-4275
Authorized list of established names for drugs in the U.S. including United States Adopted Names (USAN), current USP and NF names, and other nonproprietary drug names. Provides CAS Registry numbers, molecular formula and weight, official pronunciation, and category of pharmacological activity.
Physical Identification
- PDR Prescriber's Digital Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Online version of the Physicians' Desk Reference. Provides information on prescription and over-the-counter drugs.
Herbal Medicines, 3rd Edition by Call Number: Carothers Stacks RM666 H33 N49 2007ISBN: 0853696233Publication Date: 2007Provides information on a wide variety of herbal medicines, including effective use, possible drug interactions, chemical and scientific information, correct preparation, and a directory of suppliers.
PDR for nonprescription drugs, dietary supplements, and herbs : the definitive guide to OTC medications.Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating RM671 A1 P47Information on nonprescription drugs, dietary supplements, and herbs. Has product identification and product information sections. Indexed by manufacturer, product name, product category, and active ingredients.
Red Book 2010 by Call Number: Carothers Reference RM301.12 R43 2010ISBN: 1563637510Publication Date: 2010Pharmacist's guide to prices and marketing of drug products. Includes product identification with full color pictures, manufacturer's directory, manufacturers' catalogs, drug interactions, and reference section with dosage tables, weights and measures, etc.
Martindale: The Complete Drug ReferenceCall Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating RS51 U65Comprehensive British publication providing well-referenced information on pharmacology, toxicology and therapy of foreign and U.S. drugs (prescription, nonprescription, obsolete and investigational drugs and natural substances). Includes non-approved indications and chemical and physical data. International directory of drug manufacturers, general index, to clinical uses.
