Need Help?
Finding Background Information
Not sure how to start your research? Background and reference sources can help you...
- Gather initial information about a topic
- Get a rough overview so you can decide what areas to research further
Reference books and online tools are great for looking up a quick fact, definition, or date, and they can direct you to more sources.
If none of the suggestions on this page fit what you're looking for, try a search in the library catalog for your research topic and add "reference", "handbook", "guide", or "companion" to see what materials we have on your topic.
Don't underestimate the value of reference materials and sources like Wikipedia to help set you up for future research!
Online Tools for Background Information
The databases listed in this box can help you find background information. These provide access to short entries on a variety of subjects that will give you some helpful context as you brainstorm issues to explore further.
- Credo Reference Academic Core This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 200 videos.
- Oxford Reference Online Premium This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Brings together selected reference works from Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource.
Recommended Books & Ebooks
The Oxford Handbook of Human Development and Culture by Call Number: ebookISBN: 0199948569Publication Date: 2015This handbook covers the entire lifespan from the prenatal period to old age using a "cultural-developmental approach." It covers topics such as the development of emotion, language, cognition, morality, creativity & religion, and developmental contexts like family, friends, civic institutions, school, media and work.
The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Family Studies, 4 Volume Set by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780470658451Publication Date: 2016This encyclopedia provides a comprehensive, interdisciplinary collection of the key concepts, trends, and processes relating to the study of families and family patterns throughout the world.
The SAGE encyclopedia of lifespan human development by ISBN: 1506353320Publication Date: 2018This encyclopedia explores all individual and situational factors related to human development across the lifespan.
Encyclopedia of Adolescence by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780323960236Publication Date: 2024This encyclopedia presents a comprehensive overview of the theories, methods, and empirical evidence needed to understand the adolescent years. It examines the experiences that can compromise healthy development in adolescence and the specific mental health challenges that are common or emergent during the adolescent years.
The SAGE Handbook of Global Childhoods by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781529717815Publication Date: 2021This handbook has contributions from scholars across the globe who have focused their work on the interdisciplinary field of childhood studies, education, cultural studies, ethnography and philosophy. It focuses on young children in the age range of birth to 8 years of age.
Research Foundations of Human Development and Family Science by Call Number: Carothers Library Stacks H62 .D84 2022ISBN: 9781032015552Publication Date: 2021This book is an introduction to the diverse scientific research methods that are practiced in HDFS.
Handbook of Bowen Family Systems Theory and Research Methods by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781138478114Publication Date: 2020This handbook discusses core issues such as anxiety, stress, emotional cutoff, differentiation of self, multigenerational transmission process and nuclear family emotional process. It discusses the links between theory, data collection, and data analysis based on the Bowen family systems theory.
Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children by Call Number: ebookISBN: 0429810237Publication Date: 2019This handbook features sections on social emotional learning, non-cognitive assessment, child development, early childhood education, content areas, teacher preparation, technology, multimedia and English language learners.
Qualitative Methods for Family Studies and Human Development by Call Number: ebookISBN: 1412914027Publication Date: 2007This text combines epistemology, theory and methodology and provides a systematic outline for carrying out qualitative projects from start to finish for those working in the areas of family studies, human development, family therapy and family social work.
Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences by Call Number: ebookISBN: 0128159707Publication Date: 2021This handbook includes the foundational and classic themes of aging research. It contains topics like families, immigration, social factors & cognition, caregiving, neighborhoods & built environments, natural disasters, religion, health and sexual behavior.
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care, Fourth Edition by Call Number: ebookISBN: 0826140521Publication Date: 2017This encyclopedia addresses the complex medical, social and psychological problems associated with geriatric care.
The SAGE Handbook of Aging, Work and Society by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781446294154Publication Date: 2013This handbook offers an overview of issues like the aging workplace, managing an aging workplace, living in an aging society and developing public policy.
The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Adulthood and Aging by Call Number: ebookISBN: 1444331477Publication Date: 2012This handbook provides an overview of the developmental psychology of the adult years.
The Sage Encyclopedia of Multicultural Counseling, Social Justice, and Advocacy by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781071808030Publication Date: 2023This encyclopedia covers a wide range of terms, concepts, ideologies, groups and organizations through a diverse lens. Some topics included are multicultural counseling, social justice and advocacy and the experiences of diverse groups.
The Handbook of Systemic Family Therapy, Set by Call Number: Carothers Library Stacks RC488.5 .H3346 2020ISBN: 9781119438557Publication Date: 2020The Handbook integrates the scholarly literature on systemic interventions focused on children, couples, and families into a single resource. Volume 1 includes critical information on the theoretical, practice, research, and policy foundations of the profession of systemic family therapy and its roles in an integrated health care system. Volume 2 covers children and adolescents. Volume 3 covers couples. And Volume 4 covers the family over the lifespan.
Handbook of Clinical Issues in Couple Therapy by Call Number: Carothers Library Stacks RC488.5 .H32623 2011ISBN: 9780415804752Publication Date: 2011This handbook provides a comprehensive overview of emerging issues that impact couple therapy. It explores a range of issues that include intimate partner violence, posttraumatic stress disorder and its effect on couple relationships, divorce therapy, remarriage and cohabitation issues, cultural issues, and couple therapist training.
