Need Help?
Overview
The books you see below are just some of the more recent titles dealing with human rights that the URI Library owns. Books can either provide a general overview of a topic or deal with a very in-depth issue within a topic.
Some suggested search terms:
- human rights
- human rights advocacy
- human rights movements
- human rights history
- human rights violations
To search for human rights in a specific region or country search for human rights and then a country name or region.
- For Example: human rights Russia or human rights Latin America
- URI Libraries Search
This link opens in a new window
Locate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
Books
Human Rights in International Relations by Call Number: K3240 .F67 2012ISBN: 9781107015678Publication Date: 2012The author provides an overview of what role human rights plays in an era of international political upheaval. Includes further reading suggestions and index.
The UN and Human Rights by Call Number: K3240 .V468 2011ISBN: 9780521841900Publication Date: 2011The United Nations, the international organization committed to maintaining international peace and security, is the subject of this title which asks whether the power shift from states to international organizations advances liberty. Includes bibliography and index.
Human Rights in the 21st Century by Call Number: JC571 .H7695265 2011ISBN: 9780230280991Publication Date: 2011This title deals with the perspectives, discourses, responses, and trends regarding human rights, specifically post September 11th. Includes bibliography and index.
Handbook of Human Rights by Call Number: URI JC571 .H34755 2012ISBN: 041548023XPublication Date: 2011This handbook is grouped by key areas of discussion including: foundations and critiques of human rights, frameworks for understanding human rights, world religious traditions and human rights, social, economic, group, and collective rights, organizations and institutions, law and human rights, and more. Includes bibliography and index.
