Need Help?
Reference Resources
Reference resources is where you will find encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks to help you get started on your work. Most of these titles are available on the first floor of the Carothers Library and located in the reference area.
Introductory Information
-
Freedom in the world 2010 : the annual survey of political rights & civil liberties
by
Call Number: URI JC571 .F66 2010ISBN: 1442204958Publication Date: 2010(Latest in Ref; previous volumes in Serial Stacks).
Annual survey data of political rights and civil liberties as experienced by individuals in over 192 countries and 18 territories. -
Atlas of Human Rights
by
Call Number: URI REF JC571 F33 2010ISBN: 0520261232Publication Date: 2010Using maps this title details violations from around the world. It is broken down by chapter and covers citizenship, judicial violations, censorship, conflict & migration, discrimination, women's rights, and children's rights. Includes country profiles and world data. -
The Globalization of Human Rights
by
Call Number: URI REF JC571 G5855 2003ISBN: 9280810804Publication Date: 2003Focuses on the construction, incorporation, and practice of human rights at the national, regional, and international levels. Includes bibliographical references at the end of each chapter. -
The Wilson chronology of Human Rights by
Call Number: URI REF JC571 W4725 2003ISBN: 0824209729Publication Date: 2003Traces the history of human rights, including civil rights, women's rights, gay rights, rights of indigenous peoples, etc. and covers events, trends, key figures, organizations, laws, court cases, and ideas about human rights.
Includes bibliographical references and index. -
International instruments of the United Nations : a compilation of: agreements, charters, conventions, declarations, principles, proclamations, protocols, treaties, adopted by the General Assembly of the United Nations, 1945-1995
by
Call Number: URI REF K3238 I58 1997ISBN: 9211006120Publication Date: 1997Includes bibliographical references. -
International Human Rights in a Nutshell
by
Call Number: URI REF K3240.4 B84 2002ISBN: 0314260145Publication Date: 2006The nutshell series provides succinct language and descriptions for those not familiar with the law. -
The international bill of human rights
by
Call Number: URI REF K3238 A1 I53Publication Date: 1978This 42 page booklet includes the Universal Declaration of Human Rights; International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights; and Optional Protocol.
Note: the Universal Declaration of Human Rights is available through the United Nations website here.
Encyclopedias
-
Human Rights in the United States by
Call Number: URI REF KF4747.5 .C37 2011 2 Vols.ISBN: 9781592372904Publication Date: 2010-12-15Explains American human rights cases, laws, and concepts. Includes extensive primary source material. -
The Human Rights Encyclopedia
by
Call Number: URI REF JC571 L523 2001 3 Vols.ISBN: 0765680238Publication Date: 2001-01-01Discusses the context of human rights in various countries, as well as an overview of issues. Over 175 maps are included, as well as appendixes of United Nations human rights documents and a listing of human rights organizations. -
Human rights violations
by
Call Number: URI REF JC571 H783 2003 3 Vols.ISBN: 1587650894Publication Date: 2003Survey of major abuses in human rights. Articles are arranged chronologically from 1953-2001. -
Encyclopedia of human rights
by
Call Number: URI REF JC571 E673 2009 5 Vols.ISBN: 9780195334029Publication Date: 2009This five volume set is an A-Z guide to international issues dealing with human rights. Includes bibliographical references and index.
Dictionaries
-
A dictionary of human rights
by
Call Number: URI REF K3239.3 R67 2004ISBN: 185743207XPublication Date: 2004A collection of 230 topical essays covering various human rights concepts and issues. -
Human rights in the United States : a dictionary and documents
by
Call Number: URI KF4747.5 C37 2000 2 Vols.ISBN: 157607109XPublication Date: 2000Explains American human rights cases, laws, and concepts. Includes extensive primary source material. -
Dictionary of international human rights law
by
Call Number: URI REF K3239.3 G53 1996ISBN: 081083118XPublication Date: 1996Provides sources, definitions, and cross references for 64 rights in international treaties and four declared rights. Includes a directory and extensive bibliography.
