Need Help?
ACLU News Feed
Loading ...
Civil Rights
This section of the guide is designed to help you find resources specifically regarding Civil Rights.
To find additional information, perform a Subject search using the subject heading CIVIL RIGHTS. To explore various aspects related to civil rights, perform a Keyword search using civil rights and a significant keyword.
- For Example: civil rights AND society
To search for civil rights in a specific region or country search for civil rights and then a country name or region.
- For Example: civil rights United States or civil rights Southern states
-
URI Libraries SearchLocate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
Getting Started
-
The Greenwood encyclopedia of African American civil rights : from emancipation to the twenty-first century
by
Call Number: URI REF E185.61 E54 2003 2 Vols.ISBN: 031332171XPublication Date: 2003Includes over 120 primary documents and extensive chronology and bibliography to supplement the entries. Includes bibliographical references and index. -
The Encyclopedia of Civil Liberties in America.
by
Call Number: URI REF JC599 U5 E53 2005 3 Vols.ISBN: 0765680637Publication Date: 2005Examines the concept and practice of civil liberties in the United States, with detailed history of court cases, events, constitutional amendments, and a chronology. Includes bibliographical references and indexes. -
The Jim Crow Encyclopedia
by
Call Number: URI REF J53 2008 Vol. 1&2ISBN: 9780313341816Publication Date: 2008This two volume set covers the era with essays on law, media, business, politics, employment, religion, education, people, events, culture, the arts, protest, the military, class, housing, sports, and violence. Also features excerpted primary source documents to support entries. Includes bibliographical references and index.
Finding Articles
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to and full text of over 8,500 journals and magazines, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers a wide range of academic subjects including the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and more.
- What dates are covered? Coverage varies, but generally covers the mid 1990s - present. Updated daily.
-
America: History and Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to and the full text of hundreds of full-text history journals about the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes features such as the ability to search by time period.
- What dates are covered? 1955 to the present
-
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? The international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Citations and abstracts for journals, books, dissertations, and conference papers in areas such as social structure, inequality, social change, and social problems. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1952 - Present.
- What’s included? The international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Citations and abstracts for journals, books, dissertations, and conference papers in areas such as social structure, inequality, social change, and social problems. Updated monthly.
Internet Resources
-
American Civil Liberties Union.Advocating individual rights by litigating, legislating, and educating the public on issues affecting individual freedom. Site contains publications, legal documents, supreme court cases, and fact sheets pertaining to human rights issues in the United States.
-
U.S. Department of State - Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights, and LaborThe U.S. Department of State manages this site as a portal for international human rights related information from the United States Government. Includes links to annual human rights reports on various countries.
-
The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human RightsThis advocacy group represents a coalition of more than 200 national organizations to promote and protect the civil and human rights of all persons in the United States.
-
U.S. Commission on Civil Rights.Includes news releases, on-line publications, and other official information.