Need Help?
Finding Articles
Consult articles once you've created a research question or thesis and want to look at your topic in detail. If you are just starting out and don't have a good sense of your topic yet, check out "Finding Background Information" first.
The databases on this page provide access to scholarly, popular, and news articles. Some databases will lead you directly to the full text of an article while others will help you find abstracts (summaries) for articles that you'll need to track down elsewhere.
If you have any trouble finding what you need, just ask a librarian! For a refresher, check out our guide.
To browse a specific journal, search for it by name in URI's Journal Search or browse for journals by subject on BrowZine!
-
E-Journal List - URI Journal SearchEnter the title of the journal or newspaper you're looking for to find access quickly!
-
BrowZineAn app that lets you browse journals by discipline or search by title. You can save journals or articles to a personalized bookshelf for later use!
Suggested Databases for Kinesiology
Below are links to research databases where you will be able to find articles related to kinesiology from scholarly and popular sources.
For more information on searching databases, please visit our Finding Articles guide linked below.
-
CINAHL (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Indexing and abstracts of journal articles and other materials in nursing and allied health.
- What dates are covered? 1981-. Updated monthly.
-
Human Kinetics Library (Bloomsbury) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Human Kinetics Library features ebooks and videos from Human Kinetics, an educational publisher for fitness, exercise, coaching, and sport.
-
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? From the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides citations to articles on biomedicine and life sciences topics including bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, marine biology, and preclinical sciences.
- What dates are covered? 1809 - Present.
-
PubMed (linked to URI holdings) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations and additional life science journals. A service of the National Library of Medicine. Updated daily.
- What dates are covered? 1947 - Present.
- What’s included? Provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations and additional life science journals. A service of the National Library of Medicine. Updated daily.
-
Sports Medicine & Education Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations and selected abstracting of journals, reports, conference proceedings, and trade and popular magazines in the field of physical education, physical fitness, health, and sports medicine. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1970 - Present.
- What’s included? Citations and selected abstracting of journals, reports, conference proceedings, and trade and popular magazines in the field of physical education, physical fitness, health, and sports medicine. Updated monthly.
Multidisciplinary Databases
Check out these multidisciplinary databases to access scholarly information, such as articles, books, and reports, from a wide range of academic disciplines and subject areas. This can be a useful place to begin your research when studying cross disciplinary topics.
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to and full text of over 8,500 journals and magazines, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers a wide range of academic subjects including the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and more.
- What dates are covered? Coverage varies, but generally covers the mid 1990s - present. Updated daily.
-
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
-
Web of Science Core Collection (Clarivate) This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Access to Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1900-present), and Book Citation Index (2005-present). Contains citations to articles from over 10,000 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
- What else should I know? Searching by cited reference allows the user to uncover the research that influenced an author’s work or to navigate forward in time to discover a paper’s impact on current research.
- Learn more about how to use Web of Science.
Kinesiology Faculty Publications
Curious about what URI's faculty in Kinesiology have been publishing? The feed below highlights faculty publications that have been uploaded to Digital Commons, URI's digital repository!