Skip to main content

Psychology: Welcome

This is a guide to selected sources of information in Psychology available at URI. To find additional information, conduct a Subject search in the library catalog using subject headings for specific areas in psychology, such as Developmental Psychology.

Reference & Research Help

Ways to Get Research Help


Visit us at the
Info & Research Help Desk


Call Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)

(401) 874-2653


Chat With Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)

Click Here to Start


Email Us
(After Regular Hours)

urilibrarian@gmail.com

(Please allow 2-3 business days for a response)

Department Publications

These are the latest publications from faculty members in this department.

Loading ...

Introduction

This guide is an introduction to sources of information in Psychology available at URI. To find additional information, conduct a Subject search in the catalog using subject headings for specific areas in psychology, such as Developmental Psychology, Learning, Personality, Social Psychology, etc. The Library of Congress Subject Headings will help identify appropriate terms.

Where to Start Your Book Search

There are four places to start your search for books. Each has a different specialty and scope.

If you see something you'd like, but can't get access via the URI Libraries, you may request materials using InterLibrary Loan. See this page for more information:

Where are the journals?

Most journals are available through the library in electronic format. To find or to gain access to an electronic journal, search the e-Journal List for the title of the periodical you are looking for.

You can find online journals as well as print journals by searching the URI Libraries Search for the title of the specific periodical. To make this easier, you can use the limiters on the left side of the screen to specify you are looking for journals or you can use the "Advanced Search" version to look specifically for journals as well.

The print journals start their lives in the Current Periodicals section on the lower level of the library (at the base of the stairs). That is where you will find journals that have been published recently, usually less than a year old.

After about a year, the journals are sent out to be bound into something resembling large books. When they return, the bound journals are sent to an area called The Serial Stacks. Here they will live out the rest of their lives. Please visit them!

For more on this and how to track down an article from a citation see:

To find articles by topic, use a reference database that allows keyword searching. Start with this link: 

Where can I find the Psychology databases?

To find Psychology and other Social Sciences articles by topic, use a reference database that allows keyword searching. Start with this link:

Or visit the "Finding Articles" tab in this guide for more specific database suggestions!

Where are the books?

Books with call numbers A through P are located on the third floor.

Books with call numbers Q through Z are located on the second floor.

Except...

The catalog will tell you if a book is in Reference (location = Carothers Library Reference, status = Non Circulating). The Reference Collection is on the first floor.

There are also books located in the Curriculum Materials Library (location = Carothers Library CML). The CML is on the first floor, near Reference.

Some books are located in the Special Collections Library (location = Carothers Library RI Collection or Carothers Library Archives). The Special Collections Library is on the second floor.

Where are the Psychology books?

Books about Psychology are located on the second floor and third floor.

  • BF - Psychology
  • HD - Organizational Behavior
  • HM - Social Psychology
  • RC - Cognitive Behavior
  • RC - Group Therapy
  • RJ - Clinical Child Psychology

Need help?

Click on the black arrow to open the chat in a new window.

If we're not online, please email us at urilibrarian@gmail.com. Please allow 1-2 business days for a response.

About This Guide...

This guide was originally created by Barbara Kenney 1/01.

Revised by Cherine Whitney 8/05.

Updated and reformatted by Ida D. McGhee 3/12.

Revised by Katie Leahy, 7/13.

Updated, Taylor St. Pierre, 2/18.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.