Need Help?
Finding Articles
Consult articles once you've created a research question or thesis and want to look at your topic in detail. If you are just starting out and don't have a good sense of your topic yet, check out "Finding Background Information" first.
The databases on this page provide access to scholarly, popular, and news articles. Some databases will lead you directly to the full text of an article while others will help you find abstracts (summaries) for articles that you'll need to track down elsewhere.
If you have any trouble finding what you need, just ask a librarian! For a refresher, check out our guide.
To browse a specific journal, search for it by name in URI's Journal Search or browse for journals by subject on BrowZine!
- E-Journal List - URI Journal SearchEnter the title of the journal or newspaper you're looking for to find access quickly!
- BrowZineAn app that lets you browse journals by discipline or search by title. You can save journals or articles to a personalized bookshelf for later use!
Suggested Psychology Databases
The best place to find articles is in one of the library's databases, but choosing a database can be overwhelming! Here are a few best bets with a brief description of their specialties and strengths!
Quick Tips: Need an article with a specific research method? Use APA Psycho Info and filter by Methodology, like Quantitative or Empirical. Need to exclude systematic reviews or meta-analysis? Use PubMed to search for clinical trials or observational studies!
- APA PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations and abstracts of journal articles and books in psychology, including applied psychology, developmental psychology, and personality. Updated twice weekly.
- What dates are covered? 1597 - Present.
- APA PsycArticles (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Database of full text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals. Covers the full spectrum of research in the field. Updated twice weekly.
- What dates are covered? 1894 - Present.
- PubMed (linked to URI holdings) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations and additional life science journals. A service of the National Library of Medicine. Updated daily.
- What dates are covered? 1947 - Present.
- PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Online access to resources published by the American Psychiatric Association. Includes the DSM-5 and additional content in the DSM Library; all American Psychiatric Association journals; and selected textbooks, study guides, and patient resources.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Provides a guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Contains information about test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. Vol. 1.
- What dates are covered? 1937 - Present.
Databases from Other Disciplines
If your research topic crosses multiple subject areas or if you just want to get a broader context for your topic beyond your specific field, consider exploring more widely! We've collected some recommendations below to help you get started, but remember that you can also head to the Databases @ URI list and browse by subject to see what databases we have available in other subject areas. Start with the Best Bets section as those databases have been selected by librarians as good places to start your research!
- PTSDpubs (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Current and retrospective indexing and selected abstracting of the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental health consequences of traumatic events.
- What dates are covered? 1871 - Present.
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? The international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Citations and abstracts for journals, books, dissertations, and conference papers in areas such as social structure, inequality, social change, and social problems. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1952 - Present.
- Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.