Need Help?
Finding Publicly Available & Free Resources
Many of the resources collected on this guide require an affiliation with URI or use of a public computer within the URI Libraries. You can always check access restrictions for recommended resources by looking at the icon next to each link. The little green "A" icon to identifies resources that are accessible.
- Free Resource: All Can Access
- URI Only (must be a URI student, faculty, or staff member to access)
You can also check out the recommendations on this page for additional resources you can access without a logon restriction!
To browse for open access, freely available scholarly material on your topic, check out the Directory of Open Access Journals linked below!
If you need Datasets or Statistics, please see the Finding Data & Statistics Tab on the Left for free downloadable Data options!
- Directory of Open Access JournalsAn index of quality, peer-reviewed, open access scholarly research journals covering a range of disciplines.
Online Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online by George Ritzer et al (Editors)Online edition of a print resource in the Carothers Library Reference collection. Browse and search entry titles and abstracts.
For full entries, see the print copy (Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating HM425 B53 2007 Vol. 1-10).
Organizations
- American Sociological AssociationThe ASA is a non-profit membership association dedicated to advancing the field of sociology and serving the public good.
- International Sociological Association"A non-profit association for scientific purposes in the field of sociology and social sciences."
- Rand CorporationThe Rand Corporation focuses on providing nonpartisan research and analysis on issues such as health, education, national security, international affairs, law and business, the environment, and more.
- Association for Applied and Clinical SociologyThis resources is dedicated to research, certification, the promotion of conferences and other career building resources.
- The Brookings InstitutionA nonprofit public policy research institution, The Brookings Institution produces independent and highly trusted research.
Statistics
- Bureau of Justice StatisticsOfficial government source for statistics on the justice system, including crime and victims, drugs and crime, criminal offenders, law enforcement, prosecution, courts and sentencing, corrections, etc.
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsOfficial government source for statistics on employment and unemployment, prices and living conditions, compensation and working conditions, productivity and technology, employment projections, and international labor.
- National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)Online publications and statistical data from NCES, the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the United States and other nations.
- National Center for Health StatisticsExtensive data from the principle health statistics agency of the U.S., the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Internet Resources: Social Sciences
- AARPIncludes resources on an array of topics, including aging, finances, travel, health, technology, and more.
- Census BureauOfficial government source for a broad range of social, demographic, business, and economic statistics. Historical data can be found under the "Publications" links on the Census homepage.
- Facts & HistoryA compilation of information about the Rhode Island. Includes links to information about demographics, the economy, employment, health, housing, poverty, education and crime.
- FAIR: Fairness and Accuracy in ReportingMedia watch group that offers well-documented criticism of media bias and censorship.
- Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS)Sample microdata from U.S. and international censuses. U.S. data is from the 1850-2000 Censuses of Population and the 2000-2010 American Community Surveys. All data is coded to provide continuity across samples and allows users maximum flexibility to customize variables.
- Kids CountProfiles, graphs, maps, and rankings of the educational, social, economic, and physical well-being of children in the U.S., state by state.
- Life Magazine Photo ArchiveSearchable database of millions of images from the LIFE photo archive, from the 1860s to the present. Hosted by Google.
- National Archeological DatabaseOnline source of information on public archaeology and national legislation affecting cultural resource management. From the National Park Service.
- PollingReport.comTimely cross-section of poll data on topics of national political, economic, and sociocultural interest from national polling firms such as Gallup, Harris, CBS/NYT, NBC/WSJ, etc.
- Population Reference BureauOne-stop source for world population, health, and environmental data.
- Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network (RAINN)Provides information and resources for researchers as well as those affected by rape, abuse, and incest.