Need Help?
Overview
The following resources relate specifically to Native American treaties. The United States and native tribes have a long history of treaties dating back to 1778. Information on the treaty making process and how to do treaty research may be found in Treaties and Other International Agreements: The Role of the United States Senate: A Study. This is available as a .pdf here and in print at URI in the government publications section, (Govt. Pub Y 4.F 76/2:S.PRT.106-7).
Reference Resources
Indian affairs : laws and treaties by Call Number: URI Govt Pub Y 4.In 2/2:L 44/ Vol. 1-7Publication Date: 1975-1979Considered the definitive authority on Native American Nations treaties. First two volumes contain the text of treaties. Vols. 1-5 are reprints of the 1904-1941 ed. Vols. 6-7 issued by the Dept. of the Interior, with title: Kappler's Indian affairs commonly known as the Kappler report. Includes indexes.
Note: Oklahoma State has digitized this title and is available here.- Early American Indian Documents by Call Number: URI REF KF8202 1979 Vol. 1-7ISBN: 0890931801Publication Date: 1987This collection of documents is broken down by geographic region as follows:
Vol 1: Pennsylvania and Delaware Treaties, 1629-1737 edited by Donald H Kent
Vol 2: Pennsylvania Treaties, 1737-1756 edited by Donald H Kent
Vol 4: Virginia treaties, 1607-1722 edited by W Stitt Robinson
Vol 5: Virginia Treaties, 1723-1775 edited by W Stitt Robinson
Includes bibliography.
Vol 6: Maryland Treaties, 1632-1775 edited by W Stitt Robinson
Vol 7: New York and New Jersey Treaties, 1609-1682 edited by Barbara Graymont. 
Treaties with American Indians by Call Number: URI REF KF8203.6 T74 2008 Vol. 1-3ISBN: 9781576078808Publication Date: 2007Broken down into three volumes, this resource provides essays, treaties history, primary source documents, a chronology and index.
Encyclopedia of United States Indian Policy and Law by Call Number: URI REF KF8205 E525 2009ISBN: 9781933116983Publication Date: 2008This two volume set examines the relationship between the United States Indian Policy and Law. The set is broken down into essays and a A to Z entries dealing with important issues. Includes bibliographical references and index.
American Treaties and Alliances by Call Number: URI Ref KZ236 2000ISBN: 1568024401Publication Date: 2000Broken down into sections by theme and chronological order, this title features various alliances and treaties. Includes bibliographic references and index.
Databases
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? News, law, and business information service. Includes news from national and international newspapers; wire services and articles from hundreds of periodicals; and a number of other reference sources. All sources are full-text. Updated daily.
- PAIS Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to journal articles, books, government publications, research & conference reports, publications of international agencies, and other materials from over 120 countries. Covers topics related to public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1914 - Present.
Internet Resources
- Indian Affairs : laws and treaties (electronic version)
This link opens in a new window
This is a digitized version of Kappler's seminal text. Considered the definitive authority on Native American Nations treaties. - Senate Committee on Indian Affairs
- This link opens in a new window
This now permanent committee deals with the problems of American Indians, Native Hawaiian, and Alaska Native peoples. This resource includes hearings & meetings, issues & legislation, and current news. - Yale Law School's Avalon Project, Treaties Between the United States and Native Americans
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of Treaties between the United States and Native Americans. 1778-1868.
