Need Help?
Overview
The following resources relate specifically to United States treaties. Information on the treaty making process and how to do treaty research may be found in Treaties and Other International Agreements: The Role of the United States Senate: A Study. This is available as a .pdf here and in print at URI in the government publications section, (Govt. Pub Y 4.F 76/2:S.PRT.106-7).
Reference Resources
Treaties and other international agreements of the United States of America, 1776-1949 by Call Number: URI REF JX236 1968 A5 Vol. 1-10Publication Date: 1968-76Authoritative text of all treaties signed by the U.S. during this time period. Volumes 1-4 consist of multilateral treaties arranged by date. Volumes 5-12 consist of bilateral treaties arranged alphabetically by country and then by date. Separate index volume indexes by subject, country, and popular name of treaty.
US Laws, Acts, and Treaties by Call Number: URI Ref KF385 A4 U152 2003 Vol. 1-3ISBN: 1587650983Publication Date: 2003These three volumes select those U.S. laws, acts, and treaties most likely to come up in classroom discussions. They are listed chronologically between 1776-2002. Includes bibliographic information and index.
American Treaties and Alliances by Call Number: URI Ref KZ236 2000ISBN: 1568024401Publication Date: 2000Broken down into sections by theme and chronological order, this title features various alliances and treaties. Includes bibliographic references and index.- Treaties and other international acts of the United States of America by Call Number: JX236 1931a Vol. 1-8Publication Date: 1931-1948Text of U.S. treaties up to 1863, largely replaced by Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States of America (Bevans) (see below), but includes some small claims agreements not included in Bevans and it may be borrowed. Volume 1 was never published in its final form.
Databases
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? News, law, and business information service. Includes news from national and international newspapers; wire services and articles from hundreds of periodicals; and a number of other reference sources. All sources are full-text. Updated daily.
- PAIS Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to journal articles, books, government publications, research & conference reports, publications of international agencies, and other materials from over 120 countries. Covers topics related to public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1914 - Present.
Internet Resources
- Congress.govComprehensive site for national legislative information. Includes bill summaries and status from 1973 to the present, full text of bills from the 101st Congress (1989/90) to the present, full text of public laws from 1973 to the present, House and Senate roll call votes, full text of the Congressional Record from the 101st Congress (1989/90) to the present, committee reports, and more.
- Congressional Documents: Search Full-Text of Treaties
This link opens in a new window
Senate Treaty Documents contain the text of a treaty as it is submitted to the U. S. Senate for ratification by the President of the United States. Coverage begins at 99th Congress (1985-1986) and continues to the present. - Researching U.S. Treaties by Marci Hoffman
- This link opens in a new window
Created by Marci Hoffman, International & Foreign Law Librarian, UC Berkeley Law Library and EISIL Project Manager, this resource offers various strategies for researching treaties where the United States is a signatory. - Treaties in Force
- This link opens in a new window
A list of treaties and other international agreements of the United States in force. Updated annually.
