Need Help?
Overview
The following resources relate specifically to treaties on the ocean. Treaties on oceans are often multilateral, meaning they may deal with many sovereignities, and deal with a common topic, in this case, the ocean.
Books
Note: Many specific topics dealing with treaties and the law of the sea are discussed in the Publications on Ocean Development Series, which is accessible via a title search in the library catalog.
Reflections on the Contemporary Law of the Sea by Call Number: KZA1145 .T84 2012ISBN: 9004212574Publication Date: 2012Part of the publications on ocean development series, this title deals with some of the afflictions currently facing the law of the sea. Includes chapters dealing with the resurgence of piracy, terrorism, the waning freedoms of the sea, and more. Includes bibliographical references.
Bringing New Law to Ocean Waters by Call Number: KZA1145 B74 2004ISBN: 9004140883Publication Date: 2004Papers from the third major conference of recent years at University of California at Berkeley, the headquarters of the United Nations Law of the Sea Institute since 2002. Includes bibliographic references.
The International Law of the Sea by Call Number: KZA1145 R68 2010ISBN: 9781841132570Publication Date: 2010Provides explanation and overview of the law of the sea. Includes list of abbreviations, tables, and figures. In addition, this volume also features a table of cases and treaties specifically relating to the sea. Includes bibliographic references and index.
Databases
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? News, law, and business information service. Includes news from national and international newspapers; wire services and articles from hundreds of periodicals; and a number of other reference sources. All sources are full-text. Updated daily.
- PAIS Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to journal articles, books, government publications, research & conference reports, publications of international agencies, and other materials from over 120 countries. Covers topics related to public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1914 - Present.
Internet Resources
- EPA Laws, Regulations, Treaties (Ocean Treaties)
This link opens in a new window
Key federal statutes governing oceans and coasts in the United States. - United Nations Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea
- This link opens in a new window
A very extensive look into the oceans and law of the sea provided by the United Nations. It features the convention and the related agreements, oceans and the law of the sea in the general assembly, bodies established by the convention on the law of the sea, the division and its activities, and much more.
