Getting Started
This is a guide to selected sources in the literature of food science at URI. To find additional information, conduct a subject search in the URI Libraries Search using such headings as Cooking, Food Composition, Food Microbiology, Food additives, etc.
- URI Libraries Search
This link opens in a new window
Locate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
Articles & Databases
- AGRICOLA (National Agricultural Library) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Coverage of worldwide literature on agriculture and related subjects, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, etc. Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, technical reports, and other materials.
- What dates are covered? 1970- (books) and 1981- (articles). Updated daily.
- Biological and Agricultural Index Plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Indexing of approximately 300 core periodicals in biology and agriculture.
- What dates are covered? 1983-. Updated daily.
- BIOSIS Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to sources in traditional areas of biology like botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related and interdisciplinary fields such as agriculture, biochemistry, bioengineering, biomedical, biophysics, biotechnology, ecology, medicine, and pharmacology.
- What dates are covered? 1969-present
- SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to, abstracts, and full text of scholarly research and technical literature in disciplines related to natural sciences and technology. Content covered includes scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
- What dates are covered? 1946 - Present.
- What else should I know? Comprises the sub-databases: Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database; Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Index; AGRICOLA; Agricultural Science Database; Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts; Biological Science Database; Biological Science Index; Computer Science Database; Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database; Engineering Database, Engineering Index; Environmental Science Database; Environmental Science Index; Materials Science Database; Materials Science Index; Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts; Oceanic Abstracts; Science Database.
- Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
- Web of Science Core Collection (Clarivate) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Access to Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1900-present), and Book Citation Index (2005-present). Contains citations to articles from over 10,000 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
- What else should I know? Searching by cited reference allows the user to uncover the research that influenced an author’s work or to navigate forward in time to discover a paper’s impact on current research.
- FSTA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Food Science & Technology Abstracts (FSTA) provides access to citations and abstracts dealing with all human food commodities and food processing (except for the production of raw food). Topics covered include microbiology, toxicology and hygiene, economics and statistics, engineering, packaging, and many food products. FSTA indexes articles, patents, standards, books, conference proceedings, research reports, dissertations, and legislation. Updated weekly.
- What dates are covered? 1969 - Present
Department Publications
These are the latest publications from faculty members in this department.
Loading ...
Created & Revised By
John Laurence Kelland, 3/04, 6/04, 7/07; James Austin 10/10; Anthony Loffredio. 5/13.