Need Help?
Introduction
This is a list of selected sources of information related to literature in Nursing available at URI. To find additional information, conduct a Subject search in the URI Libraries Search using Library of Congress subject headings such as NURSING - ETHICS, or NURSING - LAW AND LEGISLATION - UNITED STATES.
- URI Libraries SearchLocate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
Finding Articles
- CINAHL (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Indexing and abstracts of journal articles and other materials in nursing and allied health.
- What dates are covered? 1981-. Updated monthly.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Provides high-quality data in a collection of evidence-based medicine databases. Updated quarterly.
- PubMed (linked to URI holdings) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations and additional life science journals. A service of the National Library of Medicine. Updated daily.
- What dates are covered? 1947 - Present.
- Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
- Sigma Repository
This link opens in a new window
The Sigma Repository is "an open digital academic and clinical focused service that freely collects, preserves, and disseminates full-text nursing research, educational, and evidence-based practice materials in a variety of formats and item types. The repository is a resource of Sigma Theta Tau International (Sigma)."
Databases for Related Literature
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to and full text of over 8,500 journals and magazines, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers a wide range of academic subjects including the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and more.
- What dates are covered? Coverage varies, but generally covers the mid 1990s - present. Updated daily.
- APA PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations and abstracts of journal articles and books in psychology, including applied psychology, developmental psychology, and personality. Updated twice weekly.
- What dates are covered? 1597 - Present.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world, offering over 5 million citations and 2.7 million full-text works from thousands of universities.
Additional Databases & Resources
- Nursing DatabasesThis is the full selection of databases that most closely align to the needs of researchers in this field of study. All of the databases listed on the linked page are accessible to URI students, faculty and staff.
- Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
One of Google's specialized search tools, Google Scholar focuses primarily on information from scholarly and peer-reviewed sources. By using the Scholar Preferences page, you can link back to URI's subscriptions for access to many otherwise fee-based articles.
Created and Modified by
Created by CP Winn 3/1972
Revised and updated by Lucille Cameron, 11/76; C Perry-Holmes, 8/84; Sharon Giovenale, 5/88; Robin Devin, 4/96; Robin Devin & Jim Kinnie, 3/01 & 5/01; Robin Devin & Rebecca Troy-Horton, 7/05; Robin Devin & James Austin, 6/10; Mark Matook, 3/18; Amanda Izenstark, 9/19.